Chimichurri Sauce for Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
As a fellow Latin member I would like to explain a little bit this recipe. This marinate is meant to be very powerful. It is meant to enhance the flavor of the meat by giving it a little kick. It is not however meant to overwhelm it. Some people make the mistake of putting to much on or flooding a stake with it. This will certainly leave you with sometimes tears in your eyes or having a garlic breath that will not go away for days. In my opinion, one should slightly dip the meat in it or put a very light layer of the marinade on top of the steak. this way you taste the meat while you taste the marinade. For those people that think that the marinade taste a little bland, use very very fresh ingredients only, and if you want it to kick even more than it already does, you can add some leaves of fresh cilantro and/or cilantrillo (sorry i don't know the english word for it). Another tip is to cut the ingredients very fine by hand or you can use a blender but the lowest power. The appearance should not be like a mulch. One should be able to see all the ingredients (very small of course)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
380 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nickers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
This is a fantastic marinade for skirt steak, which should be marinaded, as it tends to be tough. I changed this recipe, as I did not have parsley or lemon on hand. I substituted cilantro for the parsley and lime juice for the lemon. FANTASTIC. I know this gives a whole different flavor than the original, but try it. It's pure heaven! We marinaded the steak, then grilled it, using the leftover marinade as a mop. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Thanks for the recipe, Ty, but here's a word to the wise: for cooking dummies like myself, be sure not to blend this mixture for more than a second if you have a powerful blender, because mine ended up looking like split-pea soup. Better yet, chop the parsley by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very nice! I threw it in a large meauring cup and used my hand blender. Came out nice. If you're not a fan of fresh/raw garlic - cute down the cloves to 3 - otherwise this sauce is fantastic. I marinated a steak in some and used the "raw" sauce over it after cooking. Whatever was leftover I threw raw shrimp in to "marinate" then threw it all in a pan the next day to sautee, diluted it with a bit of water and served it over linguine. Definitely a do over for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
From now on, everything I eat will have a dab of this chimichurri sauce on it. Even ice cream. I kid. No, seriously. I just had it on grilled shrimp. Just now. Sorry - none left for you. But it was oh my god good. Make some and you'll see what I'm talking about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
Try spreading a light ammount on a pita and toasting under broiler for a few minutes. WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2003
Ok, based on the other reviews, this review might have some scrathing there head, but I really did not like this marinade/sauce. It was way too powerful. Marinades/sauces are supposed to complement the entree, not disquise it. I have found others much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carle Place, New York, USA
Living In: Garden City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This Chimichurri Sauce for Steaks was thoroughly enjoyed on steaks grilled in the Argentinean & Brazilian style. It was also a wonderfully piquant sauce for my Venezuelan empanandas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Piquant and full of garlicky flavor. I would eat this delicious sauce drizzled over any grilled meat, or over rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This is weird because we made it and loved it profusely. Then, we made it again and it was just not very good. As far as I know, we made it precisely the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States