Chilly Day Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Delicious! I used beef and 1 can chili beans/1 can spicy chili beans. It's a hit every time - and doesn't last long!!! Make double!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I made this recipe 2 different ways. I was on the hunt for a great chili recipe I could try as beans and no beans and using ingredients I had on hand. The batch with the beans I had to substitute the ground chicken for stew meat. The second and no beans chili, I used ground beef. I did amp up the spices to taste. This was a fabulous recipe. Both chili's came out most holy delicious!!!! 3 hrs high was perfect time in the crock pot for both. I'm so glad I tried this and know I will be making this again and again!!!! Thank you so much for sharing xoxoxoxoxoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is the second time I've made this chilli for my family. I added a bit of garlic, chushed chilli and some pickled jalepenos for a kick. The family loved it, and said it's better than beef chilli. This is a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celticvines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
The only change I made was using 1 lb ground turkey and 1 lb ground beef. I did have to add about 1 cup extra water during the cooking process (crock pot), but this recipe is really good. I enjoyed that it was a little bit different from the normal chili that I make. The chili powder gives it just the right amount of kick! And if you're like me, I add some cheese and sour cream on top to give it a little cooling sensation. I will definitely make this one again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is a good recipe. I did have to add more salt, chili powder and pepper. I also added garlic powder and cumin. And a can of tomato soup. I always add that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gypsiee
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I made a vegetarian version of this everyone loved it. I changed the recipe a little to add some brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This is almost perfect chili! It's savory and tangy with lots of flavor. The small changes I made were to use ground turkey which I cooked in fajita seasoning with a little chicken broth and olive oil. Then I tossed the turkey mixture into the crock pot with the onions and the rest of the ingredients (did not use water and for beans I used one can of pinto, one can of black beans and one can of cannelini). I also used one can of Ro*Tel with habanero and cayenne pepper with sea salt to taste. After 30 minutes, I mixed the chili up then let it cook about 3 and half hours (you could do 8 hours but it isn't necessary). It turned out so good the husband says I could win a chili competition with it! Thanks for posting a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Chilly Day Chili Haiku: "This was just alright. I'm not saying it was bad, just not outstanding." So I'll make and eat just about any variety of chili, and some blow me away, some are OK, but w/ a sprinkle of cheese, some fritos, and a squirt of Siracha sauce, I'm usually happy. This particular chili (which I followed as written, except using ground beef instead of chicken) was tasty, but not one that I think I'd make again, perhaps due to the vinegar/brown sugar taste, I'm not sure what it was, but it didn't satisfy my chilitch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Buffalo Chicken Chili by PAM®

See how to make a comfort food classic with black beans and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States