Chilled Tomato and Avocado Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was good, but I tweaked it quite a bit. I didn't use tomato juice or yogurt; instead, I blended two very large beefsteak tomatoes (for a total of 3). I omitted the onion, and I added raw corn cut from the cob for some texture and a little sweetness. I also chopped a third avocado and stirred it in. I blended in about 1/3 cup of cilantro, added 1 tsp of sea salt, and added a sprinkle of cumin to each bowl. I may add garlic next time. A note about the flavor: With 32 oz of tomato juice, this is not going to taste like avocado. The avocado is used only to add a creamy texture. This soup has a nice flavor, but if you're looking for an avocado-flavored soup, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
An excellent cold soup. I doubled the recipe, used very large avocados, added 1/2 cup more tomato juice, and served 11 people nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
This was good and very refreshing. The soup is definitely more tomato than avocado. Would be delicious with real sour cream (of course). I also wonder if it would be better with lime juice instead of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
You could not taste the avocado at all and the green pepper was very overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kauai17

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victoria, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Gives a new twist to gazpacho and a very tasty, good recipe. I let everyone add their own cayenne as I do not like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this just as written except that I only used 6 oz of yogurt. It turned out great, although visually it was very unappealing, as another reviewer mentioned. I really enjoyed the flavor, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJ's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I thought this soup was very tasty, and my family enjoyed it as well! It was a great idea for lunch on a hot day (we had mexican blt sandwiches as well). I did saute the onion and the bell pepper just a tad before adding them to the soup because my family would not have enjoyed it as much if those ingredients were too overpowering. I also seasoned it with a little black pepper (in addition to the cayenne), and I only used 2.5 cups (20 oz) of vegetable juice instead of a quart of tomato juice. I really wanted to taste the avocado because I was using some nice ripe ones. I processed it in a food processor and then put it in a blender to make it smoother, and I really don't think it looked unappealing at all. It has a similar texture and color to many bisque-like soups. Once it was garnished, it actually looked quite pleasant, and it turned out to be tasty as well. This recipe may not fit everyone's personal taste, but it is certainly worth a try! I will definitely make it again! :) Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I really disliked this soup; the taste of onion and tomato juice totally overpowered the avocado. Tasted like acidic salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carnegie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This soup is delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Yummy! I doubled this for our family of big eaters. I cut the tomato juice by 2 cups (in a doubled recipe) and used half lemon half lime juice as I was out of lemon juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States