Chilled Tomato and Avocado Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Fresh and creamy!!!! Excellent!!! Many people at the teacher luncheon wanted the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Hm...you must like mild guacamole, because I doubled the lemon juice, added more cayenne, some cumin and chili powder. I used low sodium V8 juice for the tomato juice. And did not peel the tomato. Overall, very good. I love the silky texture of the avocado and the yogurt. I think it would be good topped with crumbled feta or cojita cheese. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Fitchburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JJ's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I thought this soup was very tasty, and my family enjoyed it as well! It was a great idea for lunch on a hot day (we had mexican blt sandwiches as well). I did saute the onion and the bell pepper just a tad before adding them to the soup because my family would not have enjoyed it as much if those ingredients were too overpowering. I also seasoned it with a little black pepper (in addition to the cayenne), and I only used 2.5 cups (20 oz) of vegetable juice instead of a quart of tomato juice. I really wanted to taste the avocado because I was using some nice ripe ones. I processed it in a food processor and then put it in a blender to make it smoother, and I really don't think it looked unappealing at all. It has a similar texture and color to many bisque-like soups. Once it was garnished, it actually looked quite pleasant, and it turned out to be tasty as well. This recipe may not fit everyone's personal taste, but it is certainly worth a try! I will definitely make it again! :) Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This soup is delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this just as written except that I only used 6 oz of yogurt. It turned out great, although visually it was very unappealing, as another reviewer mentioned. I really enjoyed the flavor, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Yummy! I doubled this for our family of big eaters. I cut the tomato juice by 2 cups (in a doubled recipe) and used half lemon half lime juice as I was out of lemon juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I really wanted this soup to be good but it was pretty awful. I feel kind of upset that I wasted a really good avocados. the soup is too acidic and the onion was overpowering and i only used half. also, the color of soup was not appealing what so ever. the green from the avocado and the red tomato do not make a pretty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was a hit, I made it as the starter for christmas dinner here in South America and my guests raved about it- Thank you !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
I just made this soup, and everybody liked it except for my 3 year old nephew. My niece (who is two) loved it though, she is currently completely covered in it. I also did not have any onions, so I added two spring onions, and I added less than what the recipe called for in tomato juice (I think about half), and instead of mincing the tomatoes, I chopped them, and added them. I made steamed asparagus, minted corn and goat cheese baguette, and shrimp in a parsley and garlic sauce with it(I had to feed a whole lot of people), and it was all OK, except maybe for the asparagus (it just doesn't really fit). Everything has been eaten. It really is a bit intense for a main dish, I think it would be fantastic as a starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This was good, but I tweaked it quite a bit. I didn't use tomato juice or yogurt; instead, I blended two very large beefsteak tomatoes (for a total of 3). I omitted the onion, and I added raw corn cut from the cob for some texture and a little sweetness. I also chopped a third avocado and stirred it in. I blended in about 1/3 cup of cilantro, added 1 tsp of sea salt, and added a sprinkle of cumin to each bowl. I may add garlic next time. A note about the flavor: With 32 oz of tomato juice, this is not going to taste like avocado. The avocado is used only to add a creamy texture. This soup has a nice flavor, but if you're looking for an avocado-flavored soup, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States