Chilled Russian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I needed Russian dressing to make the Beef-Stuffed Squash on this site and the only bottle in the grocery store looked pretty lame, so I made this--yummy!!!! I've been making this dressing every so often for the last year or so, and it is always delicious. I made it again today using homemade mayo (EASY with a stick blender!!! and free-range eggs. Yum.) for a salad from our garden. This has become my favorite dressing. It has enough flavor to complement just about anything, but not so wild that it overpowers the tender young greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This was just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good, and so easy to make! I always have these items on hand so it's great to be able to make this homemade vs. buying the stuff in a bottle and it tastes so much better too. I used this for "The Earl's Sandwich" from this site but I'll be sure to remember this for reubens too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I should have rated this a long time ago. It is quite simply excellent. Easy to prepare and much better than anything out of a bottle. I like to make this salad dressing to go with "Tasty Tender Pork Tenderloin" which you can find on this website. The little bit of extra effort is well worth the end result: Succulent and Delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
So much better than store bought and so quick and easy to throw together why bother with the bottled stuff? This was exactly what I was looking for to slather on our Reuben sandwiches. When I make it again, I think I'll try more horseradish. (For those who are not sure, the chili sauce called for is Heinz 57, or something similiar, not the hot chili sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
I'm not sure what is meant by "chili sauce" but the only chili sauce I know of is Sriracha. I know this sauce is really spicy so I just used one tablespoon. It was still too spicy for Russian dressing, so I added some sour cream to dilute it. The dressing still didn't taste right to be so I added some dill pickle relish which helped. After my alterations it was really good on corned beef sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Excellent. Used this last night on reuben sandwiches. Perfect for these and probably even better on a wedge salad. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great recipe! I even made a eggless version by using fat free plain yogurt instead of mayonnaise. Had to tweak the proportions just a tad and add a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I went looking for a Russian dressing since we were making reubens with lefover corned beef and I can't even GET bottled Russian dressing at the store anymore. Must not be a hot seller.... My only minor complaint is that it is TOO thick an gooey. It should be creamy, but not gooey. That was easily fixed with adding 6 TB of milk to it. Also: the flavor was much better after it sat in the fridge for a few days. (The leftovers used later were better....)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Just what I needed for my Reuben sandwiches. I only added just a touch of garlic powder and a little fresh ground pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States