Chilled Russian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Good on Reubens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used fat free mayo and low sodium Worcestershire, fresh parsley. I made my own ketchup previously (low salt & sugar free) and used 3 tablespoons of that in place of the chili sauce along with 3 tablespoons chili powder. I used my stick blender to combine the fresh onion and parsley. Everyone thought it tasted fresh and was more flavorful than the bottled version. Will be using this in place of store bought from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Very good dressing, however, I wouldn't call it "Russian" because it's really more like 1000 Island.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I feel bad that I haven't taken the time to review this recipe in the 6 years that I have been making it. I like it very much. I make it Exactly as stated. In particular, I use light hellman's mayo and a chili sauce that's sold in the refrigerated produce section of upscale grocery stores. I'm going to make this tonight so my boyfriend can try it for the first time. I also plan to make it for the holidays this year for my eastern European friends and family, because I think they will really enjoy and appreciate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Love it! In one dinner, I had it on my salad, pasta, dipped my sausage in it, AND had on my eggs the next morning! MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.H. Wiggle;P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Great recipe! I finely grated about 3 teaspoons worth of onion into the mixture directly, juice and all. Also, I used fresh parsley (about 1 tablespoon), used Crystal Hot Sauce for the chili sauce, and ended up using about 2 tablespoons of ketchup and 1 tablespoon of sugar in order to sweeten it up. I also added black pepper. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Oh this is a favourite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katface_ca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is very good and easy, and keeps well. I don't keep 1000 Island dressing on hand; I made half the recipe when I needed it for reuben sandwiches. It was great and I didn't have a ton left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very good dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I needed Russian dressing to make the Beef-Stuffed Squash on this site and the only bottle in the grocery store looked pretty lame, so I made this--yummy!!!! I've been making this dressing every so often for the last year or so, and it is always delicious. I made it again today using homemade mayo (EASY with a stick blender!!! and free-range eggs. Yum.) for a salad from our garden. This has become my favorite dressing. It has enough flavor to complement just about anything, but not so wild that it overpowers the tender young greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States