Chilled Russian Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
So much better than store bought and so quick and easy to throw together why bother with the bottled stuff? This was exactly what I was looking for to slather on our Reuben sandwiches. When I make it again, I think I'll try more horseradish. (For those who are not sure, the chili sauce called for is Heinz 57, or something similiar, not the hot chili sauce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2001
Not quite what I expected but still good. Next time I'll increase the amount of chili sauce. This would make an excellent dipping sauce for boiled shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I have to give this 5-stars because it was wonderful even though I used lowfat mayo. I also used this over a shrimp salad. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good, and so easy to make! I always have these items on hand so it's great to be able to make this homemade vs. buying the stuff in a bottle and it tastes so much better too. I used this for "The Earl's Sandwich" from this site but I'll be sure to remember this for reubens too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
great flavor. I didnt use it on salad, just for dipping seafood and in recipes. I dunno what that other person meant about not liking the color, it's around the same color as thousand island dressing, a kind of really light pink/orange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loomis, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Just what I needed for my Reuben sandwiches. I only added just a touch of garlic powder and a little fresh ground pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
didn't like the colour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Yummy! Perfect the way it is. Has a nice bite to it. A little less chili sauce or horseradish would make it taste like your regular store-bought russian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I should have rated this a long time ago. It is quite simply excellent. Easy to prepare and much better than anything out of a bottle. I like to make this salad dressing to go with "Tasty Tender Pork Tenderloin" which you can find on this website. The little bit of extra effort is well worth the end result: Succulent and Delcious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Love it! In one dinner, I had it on my salad, pasta, dipped my sausage in it, AND had on my eggs the next morning! MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.H. Wiggle;P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States