Chilled Cucumber Yogurt Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This soup is addictive on a hot summer day. Have made it a few times, and instead of seedless cucumbers I use regular ones which I deseed (split them down the middle & scoop out seeds with spoon). I like spicy food but this is better with only 1 clove of garlic to bring out the slightly sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This recipe has a great flavor, but the first time I made it with my overabundance of large cucumbers, seeds removed. I grated them and then pureed the soup as directed. The flavor was great, but the texture was coarse. Next time I'll make it with the smaller cukes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
i really enjoyed the soup and will make again when i need to use up some cukes! hubby didn't like it so much so i'll be making it just for me which is why i only gave 4 stars. would love to try the avocado next time or a dollop of sour cream. won't bother grating the cuke or mixing it in a bowl next time - just dump all ingredients into the blender for less cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Not bad. Added freshly ground pepper and a pinch of cayenne to give it a kick. Served with baguette and fruit. Great and simple dinner for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I love this soup! It's easy to modify but great as is. I sometimes add celery, avocado and a tablespoon or 2 of ranch dressing. I also like 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle seasoning in it as well. I've made this almost weekly for months so it's safe to say, it's now a 'staple' in my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Tastes amazing, especially on a hot day. I used plain yogurt with fat. Makes for a more filling dinner. I didn't add the raisins. I used my immersion blender. For company, I would probably put very thin slices of cucumber on top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is unique but very tasty if you like bold, herbal, garlicky dishes. I could barely stop eating after 2 bowls! Since it just calls for 'bunches' of the mint and dill, that is where you can taste-test for personal preference. I also use Greek yogurt for more protein and a slightly richer texture and 2 long (seedless) English cukes because there are no small seedless ones at my grocery store or farmer's market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was good! I liked it, and I may make it again, but there was no "Wow" factor. I found it refreshing, but it was missing something. Maybe if I'd let the flavors develop instead of eating it right away?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Delicious! Since the cukes are going in the blender anyway I didn't bother grating them; I just chopped them up and the blender did the rest. Next time I might garnish the soup with some sour cream for some extra fatty goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I first tasted this when I went to a friends home in Turkey, it was so wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by razelle
Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yellow Springs, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States