Chilled Cucumber Yogurt Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I made this soup after trying a version at a local restaurant. It is delicious and refreshing. I used fresh mint and dill (which makes the flavor, I think.) I also added cayenne pepper for an extra kick. I do think this recipe could use something additional to round out the flavor, maybe something sweet, but I am not sure what. The version I had the other day may have been garnished with feta. I think I will add the avocado next time to thicken it out a little bit. This is a great, healthy summer soup to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vstruck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was good! I liked it, and I may make it again, but there was no "Wow" factor. I found it refreshing, but it was missing something. Maybe if I'd let the flavors develop instead of eating it right away?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Tried to modify it to make it better but just wasn't good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Way too much red pepper, I could not eat it and even my heat lover friends, could not eat it, I tried to add yogurt to cool it down, but other than that, it had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I love this soup! It's easy to modify but great as is. I sometimes add celery, avocado and a tablespoon or 2 of ranch dressing. I also like 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle seasoning in it as well. I've made this almost weekly for months so it's safe to say, it's now a 'staple' in my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
raisins put just right amount of sweet zing into this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveltiff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I have to say this was my first go at cucumber soup, so I followed the recipe exactly. Perhaps with sour cream instead of yogurt it might be passable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
i really enjoyed the soup and will make again when i need to use up some cukes! hubby didn't like it so much so i'll be making it just for me which is why i only gave 4 stars. would love to try the avocado next time or a dollop of sour cream. won't bother grating the cuke or mixing it in a bowl next time - just dump all ingredients into the blender for less cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Delicious! Since the cukes are going in the blender anyway I didn't bother grating them; I just chopped them up and the blender did the rest. Next time I might garnish the soup with some sour cream for some extra fatty goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
This soup is addictive on a hot summer day. Have made it a few times, and instead of seedless cucumbers I use regular ones which I deseed (split them down the middle & scoop out seeds with spoon). I like spicy food but this is better with only 1 clove of garlic to bring out the slightly sweet taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States