Chilled Cucumber Yogurt Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This is unique but very tasty if you like bold, herbal, garlicky dishes. I could barely stop eating after 2 bowls! Since it just calls for 'bunches' of the mint and dill, that is where you can taste-test for personal preference. I also use Greek yogurt for more protein and a slightly richer texture and 2 long (seedless) English cukes because there are no small seedless ones at my grocery store or farmer's market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Tastes amazing, especially on a hot day. I used plain yogurt with fat. Makes for a more filling dinner. I didn't add the raisins. I used my immersion blender. For company, I would probably put very thin slices of cucumber on top of each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I made this soup after trying a version at a local restaurant. It is delicious and refreshing. I used fresh mint and dill (which makes the flavor, I think.) I also added cayenne pepper for an extra kick. I do think this recipe could use something additional to round out the flavor, maybe something sweet, but I am not sure what. The version I had the other day may have been garnished with feta. I think I will add the avocado next time to thicken it out a little bit. This is a great, healthy summer soup to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vstruck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was good! I liked it, and I may make it again, but there was no "Wow" factor. I found it refreshing, but it was missing something. Maybe if I'd let the flavors develop instead of eating it right away?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Tried to modify it to make it better but just wasn't good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Way too much red pepper, I could not eat it and even my heat lover friends, could not eat it, I tried to add yogurt to cool it down, but other than that, it had great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I love this soup! It's easy to modify but great as is. I sometimes add celery, avocado and a tablespoon or 2 of ranch dressing. I also like 1/4 teaspoon of chipotle seasoning in it as well. I've made this almost weekly for months so it's safe to say, it's now a 'staple' in my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
raisins put just right amount of sweet zing into this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traveltiff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I have to say this was my first go at cucumber soup, so I followed the recipe exactly. Perhaps with sour cream instead of yogurt it might be passable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
i really enjoyed the soup and will make again when i need to use up some cukes! hubby didn't like it so much so i'll be making it just for me which is why i only gave 4 stars. would love to try the avocado next time or a dollop of sour cream. won't bother grating the cuke or mixing it in a bowl next time - just dump all ingredients into the blender for less cleanup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Chilled Sugar Snap Pea Soup

A classic chilled spring soup with sugar snap peas.

Chef John's Avgolemono Soup

Mediterranean chicken soup with rice and lemon juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States