Chilled Cucumber Yogurt Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I loved it so much. So much. Left out the mint since I didn't have any and it was delicious. Will try it with mint and with cayenne and fresh pepper like others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
We all ate and enjoyed this soup - but I made a few modifications. I used 4 large regular cucumbers which I split and seeded. I chopped them and placed them in the food processor with fresh lemon juice, fresh mint and 3 tsp of dehydrated dill. I added 2 cups of lowfat greek yogurt and 1 heaping tsp of crushed garlic. I also used 3/4 tsp of salt and accidentally omitted the olive oil. I pulsed the food processor until the mixture was smooth. And Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Made this in July with an over abundance of cukes, it was awesome. Froze a container without the yogurt added. Forgot about it. Searching my freezer for something on a snowy sub-zero February night & figured what the heck. Defrosted, added the yogurt, a little more lemon & some green onion and it's almost July again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
The result didn't look anything like the picture (mine actually looked ten times better!!). I found no reason whatsoever to get seedless cucumbers as you grate them anyway, and the seeds don't grate with the cucumber. I used regular ones and it tasted great. To add a bit of sweetness, I used French Vanilla Lowfat Yogurt and it was delicious. Thanks a billion, it was extremely filling as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I had an over abundance of large cucumbers. I peeled & cut them but did NOT deseed them. I used low fat plain yogurt, I had fresh mint, fresh dill, fresh lemons & garlic. I put some of the cukes in a large bowl with some yogurt, lemon juice & garlic & then used an immersion blender. I gradually added more cukes, yogurt etc. I didn't chop the mint or the dill, they were the last thing I added to the bowl. Since I made a HUGE batch, after having 1 bowl, I put some in a jar in the refrigerator & then filled 2 freezer bags & laid it flat in the freezer. During the week I took a bag out & left it in the refrigerator to defrost. I had to give it a little stir in the bowl but it was YUMMY!!! I didn't add any salt or pepper until I served & one service I did add dried pepper flakes so it was spicy & cool. I'll be making this again as it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I make this all the time in the summer. We LOVE it. The recipe can be altered a bit based on what you have on hand. I don't usually use the lemon juice, olive oil, or the mint. I only had one container of yogurt one time, so I used half sour cream, and it was so yummy that now I make it that way regularly. It gives it just a bit of added richness which is good when you are having just this for dinner. After it comes out of the blender, I add a little bit of cucumber minced into very small pieces to give it some texture. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Very tasty and a good base. I like to add a small serrano or jalepeno to mine or a dash or two of hot sauce. I had a lot of dried mint and dill so i used healthy portions of those in place of fresh. After chilling a while,it's still delicious and even better the next day. Like some of the other reviews, I also add sour cream or even butter milk, depending on what is already handy in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I enjoyed this a lot! I did use about 6 small Persian cucumbers (and cut the seeds out), as they add quite a bit of sweetness. I used plenty of dill and extra lemon. Next time, I will omit the mint leaves, as they seemed unnecessary. This soup became more flavorful 24 hours later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is outstanding, but you HAVE to let the flavors develop, I don't recommend serving immediately. I tasted it right after blending and thought "what's so dang special?" Then I came home 4 hours later and it was amazing. Very refreshing one a hot summer night. One note: the raw garlic really screams though, which I love, but use a bit less if you don't care for garlicy food. Only adjustment I make now is to add green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
This is a wonderful refreshing soup. Easy to make and easy to find ingredients. I substituted 3 green onions for the garlic because it does not agree with my tummy and added 3 tablespoons of sour cream. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States