Chilled Cantaloupe Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this according to directions and found the soup to be a little lacking in flavor. I think part of the problem was the cantaloupe was not ripe enough. To enhance the flavor and thicken the soup, I added some mango, a bit more lime juice (maybe 1/2 a tablespoon), about 1/4 teaspoon more cinnamon, a pinch of salt, white pepper, and a drizzle of honey. Along with the mint leaves, which I would not consider optional, the soup is very good. It's great for a summer lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
awesome, i added extra cinnamon for a fall touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I saw this same recipe on a different website and the recipe was almost the same , the only difference is the other one had 1 cup of honey as well. I would think that would take care of the taste and consisitancy that everyone is complaining about. Honey gets really think when chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckaMax

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I served as a smoothy and all the kids liked it but not the adults, it had greart flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Porterville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Great easy to make soup. My toddler even loved it! I couldn't imagine the flavor combination and was amazed at how well the flavors combined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This recipe is more of an appetizer rather than a dessert. The amount of cinnamon (in my opinion) is overwhelming the soup, It takes away from the melon. I would skip/or add a pinch, but thats about it. As far as garnishes are concerned, you could add melon balls or add some cream in it. Sadly, this recipe didnt go well with the guests. It was disposed of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Light and fruity for a refreshing summer supper! Can't wait to have it for breakfast! This is a great "any time of day" treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
It was an interesting soup idea for a hot day. I liked the idea of the cold fresh soup. Overall it was not very thick which did not bother me. I felt it had too much orange juice, which in my opinion distracted from the ripe Cantaloupe flavor. I also used ripe sweet cantaloupe but the soup seemed to be lacking the sweetness I expected. I think that had to do with the amount of juice added. I might try this recipe again but double the amount of cantaloupe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Sorry to say that I was not a fan of this recipe. I was looking forward to it, but it didn't turn out quite how I imagined it. The cinnamon was too strong and the consistency was not the greatest either. I let it sit over night to see if it would get any better, but it didn't. I had to dump it all out, hence the one star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbjork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This really wasn't that great. I think I added too much cinnamon (I eyeballed it instead of measuring) but even with the right amount of cinnamon I'm sure I wouldn't have like it. I don't think I'll be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southwestern Turkey Soup

Turn leftover Thanksgiving turkey into deliciously different soup with some kick.

Curried Pear Soup

Learn how to make an elegant curried pear soup garnished with sweet yogurt.

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States