Chiliville Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this last night with the Johnsonville® Italian Ground Mild Italian Sausage. It came out great. My tomatoes had onion, celery and green pepper so I did not add any additional celery. I also only used 1 tbs. of chili powder. I was concerned it may be too spicy with two. This was a delicious and hearty chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Ok, LOVE, LOVE this recipe! I have always used ground chicken in place of the ground beef, but this time,I went exactly as written. The result???? Pretty dang good! I used ground sirloin. We loved it! I love ground chicken and will remain a fan, but using beef in this was definitely the way to go! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Fantastic chili! You can add corn, too... This one is a keeper. Placed in slow cooker after the meat was skillet cooked - everyone loved it. (Also, I doubled tomato paste to make it thicker. Not necessary, but i wanted a thick consistency.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe was so yummy!Just the right spices,taste was fa nominal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Very good! Different than the chilli I usually make. Very nice change. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. I made it just as written except that I used splenda instead of brown sugar and precooked turkey sausage. It was very good and filling and easy to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I made this with a few modifications to suit our taste and we loved it! Instead of the 3 cans of diced tomatoes I just used one can of Rotel tomatoes and a 28 ounce can of crushed tomatoes. I did one can of kidney beans and one can of pinto beans for a little variety. Based on the comments from other reviewers, I omitted the brown sugar and I'm glad I did. Italian sausage has a bit of sweetness so unless you like your chili very sweet, I would not add it. We topped our bowls of chili with sour cream and chopped avocado and scooped it up with tortilla chips. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
The addition of sausage was a nice variation on our usual chili. I added molasses instead of the brown sugar and it turned out very well. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very tasty! I mis-read the ingredients before going to the store, so I had to improvise on the tomatoes - used 1 (14.5oz) can of diced tomatoes with onion, celery & bell pepper along with 3 (10oz) cans of diced tomatoes with green chilis - but I really doubt that made much of a difference. I used the Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausage and I did simmer for a longer time (probably an hour), but only because we were't ready to eat. Everyone really loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I tweaked this recipe and not for any other reason except I screwed up my grocery shopping. I used two small onions and chopped up one medium green bell pepper due to not having the tomatoes with onion and green bell pepper. I discovered my beef broth was gone, so I added a cup of water and two teaspoons of garlic salt after discovering I didn't have garlic either. I used two cans of Italian style plum shaped tomatoes in puree (1 lb. 12 oz. each) since I didn't have tomato paste and love the extra tomatoes. I followed the rest of the recipe the way it was written, and have been cooking enough to know that my changes wouldn't severely alter the taste. Loved the chili recipe, and it put a kick into my usual go to chili fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States