Chiliville Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Definitely a good chili, though I did make some changes. I omitted the celery because my husband doesn't like it. I only used 2 cans of beans and subbed 24 oz of salsa for all of the diced tomato. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This was good with a few tweaks! I thought it was a little sweet and needed more flavor so I added about 2 tsp. salt, and an extra tbls chili powder and an extra tsp. of cumin. I also let it simmer for 40 minutes instead of 20. This help to deepen the flavors. I served mine with shredded cheddar, sour cream and green onions on top. I also used this chili for chili fries...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Good flavor, but not quite enough heat for my taste. I'll add a dash of hot sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This was good. I made two changes. I substituted fresh diced bell peppers instead of using diced tomatoes with bell peppers added. Also I let my chili simmer in the crock pot on low for about 5 hours, adding the beans after 3 hours, before serving. My only critique would be that during preparation it needs salt added. But that is personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Who knew what some Italian sausage could do to chili??? The only thing that I did differently was to cut the brown sugar way back, other than that, followed the recipe to the letter. Great Friday night dinner with very different flavor that came together quickly. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
This recipe is amazing!! I omitted celery and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. Wow!!! I had to make it twice just so I could take a picture of it. All I got was a basic photo that doesn't do it's justice. We will keep this recipe and use it as much as possible. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Photo by happysoupandrice
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Sooo delicious! The kids loved it! Perfect for a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happysoupandrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by donnam
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I tweaked this recipe and not for any other reason except I screwed up my grocery shopping. I used two small onions and chopped up one medium green bell pepper due to not having the tomatoes with onion and green bell pepper. I discovered my beef broth was gone, so I added a cup of water and two teaspoons of garlic salt after discovering I didn't have garlic either. I used two cans of Italian style plum shaped tomatoes in puree (1 lb. 12 oz. each) since I didn't have tomato paste and love the extra tomatoes. I followed the rest of the recipe the way it was written, and have been cooking enough to know that my changes wouldn't severely alter the taste. Loved the chili recipe, and it put a kick into my usual go to chili fare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Patterson, New York, USA
Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made this last night with the Johnsonville® Italian Ground Mild Italian Sausage. It came out great. My tomatoes had onion, celery and green pepper so I did not add any additional celery. I also only used 1 tbs. of chili powder. I was concerned it may be too spicy with two. This was a delicious and hearty chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Very tasty! I mis-read the ingredients before going to the store, so I had to improvise on the tomatoes - used 1 (14.5oz) can of diced tomatoes with onion, celery & bell pepper along with 3 (10oz) cans of diced tomatoes with green chilis - but I really doubt that made much of a difference. I used the Johnsonville Hot Italian Sausage and I did simmer for a longer time (probably an hour), but only because we were't ready to eat. Everyone really loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States