Chili con Carne III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
This is by far the best chile con carne I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is one of the best recipes I've ever tasted. My husband made this. The only thing is that it was a little dry, so we added a small can of tomato sauce. To make it a little spicier we added some cayanne pepper. Otherwise, this is the best. My husband said that this recipe is a keeper! (And coming from him, it's a big compliment.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I am now the BEST chili cook in my family thanks to this recipe. I added some cinnamon for a different feel, and this time will be adding Tobasco. Also, I didn't have any paste, and added double the amount of tomatoes. I am back online getting the recipe again to make a 4x batch. It just goes soooo fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
excellent recipe that I serve with a couple pieces of American cheese and chopped sweet onions. Put under broiler for about 2-4 min. Good One!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
very nice, added a can of baked beans and extra chilly as i like it hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabina
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Excellent base chili recipe; if you follow it word for word, I could see how some would say this dish was bland, but with a little creativity you’ve got a winner. I added green & red bell peppers, corn salsa, diced tomatoes with green chilies, poblano pepper and some Tabasco sauce. Next time I do make this I’m going to omit the whole tomatoes and just double up on diced tomatoes, maybe pop in some jalapenos too (to make it have a little more kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this recipe about 8 times now.Absolutley fantastic.fast and easy to make.My husband dont like spicy food but this is the best he ever had.I freeze half of this batch too and it freezes well.Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was so good, added some bell peppers, and extra chili flakes. Served it with tortilla chips and a side of uncooked sambals to my husband and his friends, and they loved it. It goes really well with beer, and the more they ate, the more they drank! :-) Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bronwynprowse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent. One of "The" best *Chili's* ever made. I make this recipe at least 2 times a month. You can freeze it or leave it as leftovers. It is very savory, hearty, just the right amount of spiciness. Not too liquidly, or too chunky. I add a little more tomatoes, and some chives ( which I understand most people would not like in theirs though). A must have for your recipe box, viva la chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Very mild foundation chili with the right flavor. Ready for whatever hot spices people would like to add. I didn't have tomato paste. Still tasted fine. For me the salt and pepper wound up being: salt (1.25 tsp salt minimum) ground black pepper (1.75 tsp black ppr) Notes: Be careful at the beginning not to burn the garlic and onions. I also found it a little too easy to cook off too much liquid, but you can always add a little water back in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States