Chili con Carne III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
I tried this recipe because I was bored with my usual one for chilli - I had to omit the coriander because I couldn't get hold of any. It made a tasty dish as it stands but I like to add some hot mango chutney to give it a slightly sweet finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
This is by far the best chile con carne I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This chilli is really, really easy to make. I thought it was a bit strange that you don't brown the meat before everything else but it made the ground beef less chunky this way. The flavor isn't too strong like some chilli's are and my roommate loved it! Don't count on it feeding 6 people. More like three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
NOT for spice lovers!! Easy to make, but Very Bland and "Tasteless". Needs more spices and maybe some hot peppers and tobasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
I thought it was easy to make, but a little bland. Deffinitly not for people with a spicy taste for food. I would make it again, but adding a lot more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
great recipe, but allot better if you add about 2 teaspoons of Tobasco sauce..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
Scaled this recipe to 30 portions and it only just made it no seconds. Also added more tomato paste than the recipe suggested. Otherwise a good recipe nice flavour and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
Yes, very easy to make, used steak instead of ground beef. Took many liberties with the spices,(could see it would be bland) was still seasoning while I was getting ready to serve. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is one of the best recipes I've ever tasted. My husband made this. The only thing is that it was a little dry, so we added a small can of tomato sauce. To make it a little spicier we added some cayanne pepper. Otherwise, this is the best. My husband said that this recipe is a keeper! (And coming from him, it's a big compliment.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Very fast and easy to make. I agree with other reviewers in that this chili is not very spicy. I added several dashes of Tabasco and some crushed cayenne pepper to fix it. The only real complaint I have is that the chili was not "soupy" enough; it was very chunky and was better eaten with a fork. I think added a little bit of water next time will make it better. Overall, very delicious and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States