Chili con Carne III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this recipe about 8 times now.Absolutley fantastic.fast and easy to make.My husband dont like spicy food but this is the best he ever had.I freeze half of this batch too and it freezes well.Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I was intrigued by the unusual technique of this chili recipe. Usually you don't think of making a roux for chile but...it works! Followed directions exactly and spiced it up a bit with some chipotle chili powder and chopped jalapeno,cheese on top and it was perfect for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWAN22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Great recipe and easy to follow. I did do some modifications like adding the spices to the onions while sauteing them, browning the mince on its own then add a cupful of beer. We like spicy food so I jazzed it up with chili garlic sauce and Cajun seasoning. Cooked it till thick but still with some liquid left in the pot as it will thicken upon standing. Served it on rice and topped with grated cheese and crushed corn chips. DH loved it, had seconds, even thirds and brought leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Like others have said- this is a great base! I used ground turkey instead of beef and used cayenne pepper, ground mustard, more chili powder and even added a little sugar at the end for a little sweet/spicy kick. Served over rice. Next time I'll serve with corn muffins. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHM
Photo by Sabina
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Excellent base chili recipe; if you follow it word for word, I could see how some would say this dish was bland, but with a little creativity you’ve got a winner. I added green & red bell peppers, corn salsa, diced tomatoes with green chilies, poblano pepper and some Tabasco sauce. Next time I do make this I’m going to omit the whole tomatoes and just double up on diced tomatoes, maybe pop in some jalapenos too (to make it have a little more kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
Good. Loved it myself, being the first time I made Chili con Carne, added heaps of Cinimon though because im crazy about it and served on rice with cornchips because it was quite HOT. (too hot for my mother) But everyone else enjoyed it heaps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
very nice, added a can of baked beans and extra chilly as i like it hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a great base recipe. To it I always add green pepper, red pepper, jalapeno, and a little salsa. I also double the cumin and chili powder. Overall an excellent base and good thick chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWHIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
Easy to make but very bland. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
excellent recipe that I serve with a couple pieces of American cheese and chopped sweet onions. Put under broiler for about 2-4 min. Good One!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States