Chili con Carne III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is one of the best recipes I've ever tasted. My husband made this. The only thing is that it was a little dry, so we added a small can of tomato sauce. To make it a little spicier we added some cayanne pepper. Otherwise, this is the best. My husband said that this recipe is a keeper! (And coming from him, it's a big compliment.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a great base recipe. To it I always add green pepper, red pepper, jalapeno, and a little salsa. I also double the cumin and chili powder. Overall an excellent base and good thick chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWHIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Mount Sterling, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
This chilli is really, really easy to make. I thought it was a bit strange that you don't brown the meat before everything else but it made the ground beef less chunky this way. The flavor isn't too strong like some chilli's are and my roommate loved it! Don't count on it feeding 6 people. More like three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sabina
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Excellent base chili recipe; if you follow it word for word, I could see how some would say this dish was bland, but with a little creativity you’ve got a winner. I added green & red bell peppers, corn salsa, diced tomatoes with green chilies, poblano pepper and some Tabasco sauce. Next time I do make this I’m going to omit the whole tomatoes and just double up on diced tomatoes, maybe pop in some jalapenos too (to make it have a little more kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
very nice, added a can of baked beans and extra chilly as i like it hot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
there is NO way to miss this one. Fast,easy,good and tastes even better when reheated.I added mushrooms and will add even more vegetables next time. (maybe a bit more chili powder as well) Thank you anonymous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2001
This is by far the best chile con carne I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent. One of "The" best *Chili's* ever made. I make this recipe at least 2 times a month. You can freeze it or leave it as leftovers. It is very savory, hearty, just the right amount of spiciness. Not too liquidly, or too chunky. I add a little more tomatoes, and some chives ( which I understand most people would not like in theirs though). A must have for your recipe box, viva la chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really great recipe for beginners. This was the first time I made chili and this recipe was simple to follow, pretty quick and tasty. I definitely had to play with the measurements in order to get the desired flavor but the recipe provides a great base for flavors. Great recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruby_cube
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
While making this, my partner and I thought it lacked a bit of oomph, so we added a can of corn kernels, and a jar of salsa. With these additions we reckon its a 5 star recipe and will be making it often! Thanks for a great base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States