Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
So yummy! I made a half batch and put it in my crockpot to simmer all day long. The only changes (other than halving all the ingredients) I made were the following: I left out the paprika and the cloves, because I didn't have any on hand. I used 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon in place of the cinnamon sticks, and I put in much less oregano than the recipe required...I'm not a huge fan of oregano. The really great thing about this recipe is that it is so versatile. You can control the heat by which chile pepper you use (i used poblano and the chili was only mildly spicy), and you can adjust the herbs and spices to your taste. It's a very forgiving recipe! The chili turned out wonderful, and the flavor from simmering all day was amazing. If you use a crockpot to make this recipe, put the beans in only for the last hour of cooking on low heat. That way they don't soften up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky_ME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Turner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I've made this recipe twice, and I think it's very tasty if you add some more kick to it. I like my chili thick and meaty, so I reduced some of the vegetables. I cooked the meat separately and drained off all the fat. I used only 1.5 tablespoons of oil (asking for 5 is crazy), I didn't add the cinammon, I used only two cans of tomatoes, I used only 1 large onion, and only 1.5 cans of kidney beans. The key to making this recipe great is adding more spice. I put 3 jalapenos, a full tablespoon of chili powder, and 1-2 teaspoons of cayenne powder. I think the cayenne is critical to heating it up. Fortunately, the recipe is very forgiving, and I would taste it every ten minutes and add more cayenne until it reached the level of heat I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
A great chili recipe! We tried it 2 weeks ago and just made a double batch today. Yum! I did find that it was a bit too cinnamony, so when I doubled the ecipe, I only used 3 cinnamon sticks instead of 4. That did it. Also, to add some more heat I added 2 jalepeno peppers and 1 additional chili pepper in the double batch. A nice burn, but not screaming hot. Not so hot that you need a cold glass of water nearby, but a nice smooth heat that you notice. A few extra shakes of cumin and chili powder as well as doubling the garlic made this the best chili I have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I made this for my dad and he flipped! He said he had never had such good chili. Thanks a mil, I will definitely be making this dish again. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Juno Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is by far one of the best chili recipes I've ever had. I used nearly all of the tips the other reviews gave. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Wow! I don't ever want to try another chili recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
We made this recipe with ground buffalo meat from our farm. We cooked it for 8 hours in a slow cooker, so we added extra chopped tomato. Our guests were so impressed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I have never eaten, much less cooked chili and today is the first time i made it. I skipped cloves and cinnamon and I halved the recipe since i only have half of the amount of the meat. I improvised on the chillies ( xtra chilli powder and cayenne) and i topped it with red pepper flakes. So mine was extremely spicy and it came out salty and sour-ish. Some family member liked it, others loathe it but i personally loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Thanks, it was easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Wonderful! The entire family loves it - hubby claims it's the best chili he's ever had - I think I'd have to agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaphneB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States