Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Yum! I am done looking for chili recipes! My entire family loved it. The level of spiciness was kid friendly, but still enough to be very tasty. The cloves really added a nice grown up flavor. I used chili beans instead of kidney beans. I also poured in about 1/3 c. strong black coffee - an impulse decision - gave it a bit of a smoky, dark flavor. I can see where this would be an excellent recipe to experiment with. I will definitely will be sharing this recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
I was looking for a homemade chili recipe to complete another recipe-Cornbread Topped Chili. I halved the recipe with a few changes to use what I had on hand. Used powdered cinnamon,chopped fresh tomatoes (6 small) and a can of tomatoes with green chilis and used one fresh jalepeno pepper. Then I used two boxes of corn bread mix and poured the batter over the chili and cooked for 25 minutes until golden brown.It came out great.This was cooked in an oven-proof skillet. The cinnamon seemed to compliment the sweetness of the cornbread which was a nice contrast to the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This is a nice, mild recipe for chili. I added some corn and two jalapenos for the chilis. My only complaint is that the cinnamon flavor is very strong. Next time I will only use one stick of cinnamon. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I have been making this recipe for a few years. My family and friends always rave about the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Liked this a lot. Easy to make. I think it could have been a bit spicier though. Next time ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
This was made to use on hot dogs & it worked well because it was thick and not very spicy. Next time (for use on hotdogs) I will omit the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I was a little iffy on using the cinnamon in this recipe, but decided I'd give it a go and I'm glad I did! I served it with cornbread and a good dollop of sour cream and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Super yum! I just made this and my husband won't stop trying to sneak more before the Super Bowl. I used one can of kidney beans and one can of chickpeas. I also switched the measurements of chili powder and paprika, making the chili have more chili powder. I also used only 1 stick of cinnamon, reducing as per other users' suggestions and no cloves since I had none on hand. For the three cans of tomatoes, two had jalapenos and one mild chiles. Overall, the consistency and appearance are to die for and will make any chili lover drooling waiting to get some. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Very good recipe! Go easy on the cloves, though..The first time I made it I used ground instead of whole and it overpowered the chili a bit. A fraction of a pinch will do! I also found that the cinnamon sticks should only sit in the chili for a little while as that can overpower it as well. I make this chili whenever we entertain which is quite a bit and it's always the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I add in an extra can of tomato sauce and a jar of roasted peppers with this chili. The spices are perfect and my whole family loves this chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States