Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Really good recipe, used most of the tips from the other reviews. the cinnemon does the trick ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made this recipe as printed. It sounded like it would be a good recipe with a twist. Cinnamon made it gross, lack of flavor besides the cinnamon. Now I have to figure out how to save this meal so I don't throw it away. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love this chili! I wasn't sure about the cinnamon, and too much can overpower, but I found 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon to be just enough to add a unique flavour and not to have the tastebuds scream out "Hey, there's cinnamon in here!" I haven't tried adding the cloves yet, but may need to enliven the palate and live dangerously...! I've substituted the chile pepper for 1-2tsp. cayenne and it works out well. This is my kind of recipe--simple, a little different and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This deserves a zero rating but that isn't an option on this page. I can't believe you would advise cinnamon in chili this was the most DISGUSTING chili we have ever tasted. We thought my husband made a mistake and put cinnamon instead of chili powder and so did all of our guests, someone even said what is this dessert chili. Cinnamon does not belong in chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I'm glad I found this recipe. It's much better than using those store bought packages for making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My husband and I loved this chili. The cloves and cinnamon make this recipe and should not be left out. I used smoked paprika, and two fresh jalapeno peppers and a spicy chili powder, and cut back the oil by 2T; it turned out nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I always made chili from a package...I will never do it again this chili is fantastic. I didn't have whole cloves so just put in 1/2t. ground clove and no cinammon sticks so about 1/2t. ground. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
"googled" for "best chile recipe" and came up with this one. Cooked double batch of it for 18 folks last night; everybody raved and about half wanted the recipe. Altered it slightly by adding an extra pound of beef, 3 tbs of ground cinnamon in addition to sticks, 1 additional tblsp each of salt, pepper & chili powder. This is NOW my chili recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I made this for my husband and he loved it. He wasn't so sure about the cloves and cinnamon. I had to add a little spice to balance out the clove taste and then her raved about it. So if you think the cloves and cinnamon are too much I suggest spicing it up since chili powder really varies in heat it is impossible to say this recipe isn't spicy enough or flavorful enough--it is your chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is an easy-anytime recipe - I just love it!!! Personally I do not like the cinnamon and cloves taste, so I usually do not add them to this recipe and it still tastes amazing. To make this recipe into my personal taste, I add some green bell peppers finely chopped and some parsley as well; to give an extra spicy flavor, I do not rinse the beans (in cayenne and cumin sauce). And finally I always prefer to use fresh ingredients than the dried ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States