Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Great starter. Not enough heat for me, but that is easy with adding more peppers and spices. Great tasting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Every bite is cinnamon. Cinnamon and tomatoes! So I tried to save this chili - because this wasn't cheap to make. So I threw in some spices - and still the only thing you can taste and smell is CINNAMON. I spent a good hour trying to get rid of the cinnamon - couldn't get rid of it. CINNAMON was always in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Really good recipe, used most of the tips from the other reviews. the cinnemon does the trick ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I made this recipe as printed. It sounded like it would be a good recipe with a twist. Cinnamon made it gross, lack of flavor besides the cinnamon. Now I have to figure out how to save this meal so I don't throw it away. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love this chili! I wasn't sure about the cinnamon, and too much can overpower, but I found 1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon to be just enough to add a unique flavour and not to have the tastebuds scream out "Hey, there's cinnamon in here!" I haven't tried adding the cloves yet, but may need to enliven the palate and live dangerously...! I've substituted the chile pepper for 1-2tsp. cayenne and it works out well. This is my kind of recipe--simple, a little different and fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawnee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This deserves a zero rating but that isn't an option on this page. I can't believe you would advise cinnamon in chili this was the most DISGUSTING chili we have ever tasted. We thought my husband made a mistake and put cinnamon instead of chili powder and so did all of our guests, someone even said what is this dessert chili. Cinnamon does not belong in chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I'm glad I found this recipe. It's much better than using those store bought packages for making chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
My husband and I loved this chili. The cloves and cinnamon make this recipe and should not be left out. I used smoked paprika, and two fresh jalapeno peppers and a spicy chili powder, and cut back the oil by 2T; it turned out nice and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I always made chili from a package...I will never do it again this chili is fantastic. I didn't have whole cloves so just put in 1/2t. ground clove and no cinammon sticks so about 1/2t. ground. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
"googled" for "best chile recipe" and came up with this one. Cooked double batch of it for 18 folks last night; everybody raved and about half wanted the recipe. Altered it slightly by adding an extra pound of beef, 3 tbs of ground cinnamon in addition to sticks, 1 additional tblsp each of salt, pepper & chili powder. This is NOW my chili recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States