Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
A wonderful, flexible recipe. Hard to mess up. It reminds me of the chili at Ye Old Ale House in Conshohocken, PA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe is excellent, and I used ground turkey! I freeze it in individual portions for quick meals. I like sour cream on it, too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
made this in a crockpot (browned the beef first). i added the 5 Tbsp oil, but not sure if that was necessary in a crockpot. also, took the cinnamon sticks out after about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I made this last evening and it was great. I used 1/4 tsp chili powder instead of chili pepper, and ground cloves instead whole cloves, and it still tasted great. Kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I served this to my extended family. We all discussed the rating. We would eat it again if it was served to us, however we wouldn't cook it this way again. The one thing we did like was the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I cooked this in a slow cooker on low for 6hours and it was the best chili i have ever tasted! I did forget to add the cinnamon stick, and I left out cloves as i don't like them, but the recipe was brilliant! don't hesitate to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I made chill last night, and it was a hit. My husband loved it, because it wasn’t spicy. I did change the recipe a little; I used black and pinto beans, instead of the red kidney beans. I also left out the chili pepper and cinnamon sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Love it, except the cloves get lost in the chili and it's a surprise when you bite down on one. From now on, I'll use 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nome, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Very good chili. I'll use less cumin next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I had everything except the chile pepper and I had to doctor it up as it was very bland. I added more chili powder and still I was disappointed, HOWEVER once my husband and I added alittle cheese, salsa and sour creme in our bowls MAN was it ever delicious! We were surprised how good it tasted! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alicia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yucca Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States