Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Delores McCarter
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I added a sprinkle of cloves even though I hate them and part of me wished I had left them out, but I'll be a trooper. I like a good tomato sauce as my base, so I added a can of tomato sauce. After browning meat and adding ingredients, I placed the pasta sauce into a crockpot and added the rest of the ingredients and let it all cook together for 90 minutes. I used just one cinnamon stick instead of two (sheesh, they are expensive) The cloves overpowered the aroma but it didn't kill the flavor, thank goodness. Other than the cloves, it was great. (They were quite expensive too and I don't even like those nasty things.) Would be 5 stars without the cloves. Also, I added a small can of pinto beans with the kidney beans for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delores McCarter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Not my favorite, could've been me, but I couldn't get this one to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I tried salvaging it, but am unable to figure out how to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I have used the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe from Allrecipes for several years, and its amazing. Over time I have adjusted that recipe to my taste. I thought I would try this one and it didn't disappoint. Great recipe! Since I had them on hand, I used dried California Chili pods. I just roasted them with a tablespoon of oil and threw them in my food processor then to the crockpot with the other ingredients. Omitted the fresh chili pepper in lieu of the dried pods. Added a cup of pilsner, an extra onion, and an extra pound of ground beef but outside of that stuck to the original recipe. Darn good chili. Now whether its better than the Boilermaker Tailgate chili recipe, I will leave that up to individual opinions. Both are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Delicious and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Delicious! I used the beans, omitted cinnamon and used cayenne pepper. Served over rice with shredded head lettuce. I think I will give cinnamon a try next time when I cook only for our family. Didn't want to risk as I was cooking for more that 10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woking, Surrey, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Turned out very well - followed the recipe exactly. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belladonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have been craving chili beans since my third pregnancy, it has been three yrs now, that I have been looking for chili beans like these. I jave a picky eater of a husband, n he loved it. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is the best chili I have ever had. My husband and I loved it! Made it 2 times in one week. 2nd time we made it we made a big batch for my parents and his parents and us it was a hit and had plenty of left overs which I can't wait to eat tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trhjrh06

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States