Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I made this last time as I wanted to try a different con carne recipe than my usual. It was ok but the strong smell of cloves and cinnamon was enough for both my husband and I to never want to eat this again. The smell ruins it. I have nothing against cinnamon or cloves but when paired with chili it's just weird... in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I couldn't imagine adding cinnamon to this recipe but I decided to give it a try, since we all love cinammon. None of my family liked it and neither did I. I only added half the cinnamon and increased the amount of chilies to give it a bit of bite. We found the cinnamon gave the chili a sweet taste which was rather odd and not to our liking. I will make this chili again, BUT without the cinnamon. For us this would probably have been a five star if i would have omitted this spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I just tried this recipe and it is yummylicious. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Very good recipe. This is very similar to the chili I have made for years. I made some small additions. I added one chopped green pepper, one stalk of celery chopped and a can of brown beans (I like Clarks Beans with Molasses) but any will do. I also recommend adding one square of dark chocolate (Lindt with Chili pepper is best) but any dark chocolate will do. It really enhances the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I'm not a cook by any means, and this is the first recipe I've followed. Made it the first few times with ground beef. Very tasty but a little heavy for my taste, probably because as I was learning I used more beef than called for. But it is very, very good, and I especially like the use of cloves and cinnamon, which I had not thought as an ingredient in a chili dish. But what do I know, right? Well, I decided to use ground turkey instead of ground beef, and it's fantastic. Lighter but fully satisfying, and my whole place smells fantastic as it cooks. I've refrigerated leftovers in individual size plastic microwaveable containers, which allows me to add a little rice for a quick lunch or dinner meal. And it's relatively simple to prepare, which for me was a great attraction. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
It was ok, not great, but just ok. I think the addition of cinnamon and cloves threw it off. To me that combination was strange. Maybe I'm not too adventurous with my chile con carne, but I really wanted a good traditional recipe and the spices were just off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This recipe is fine in terms of spices, variety and amounts. But, the amount of meat is WAY too much if you want to have any sauce or taste the beans. I ended up adding 1 more can of beans, plus two more cans of diced tomatoes (no salt added). I then nearly doubled the spices to account for adding all that extra tomato-y taste. Next time I would make the same recipe and just use 1 pound of meat. This recipe did taste good- I just think it needs tweaking for those of us who like more balanced chili - with plentiful beans and tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
This was the first time that I have made this and it is the best ever the entire family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mizdmc
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great recipe! I added a sprinkle of cloves even though I hate them and part of me wished I had left them out, but I'll be a trooper. I like a good tomato sauce as my base, so I added a can of tomato sauce. After browning meat and adding ingredients, I placed the pasta sauce into a crockpot and added the rest of the ingredients and let it all cook together for 90 minutes. I used just one cinnamon stick instead of two (sheesh, they are expensive) The cloves overpowered the aroma but it didn't kill the flavor, thank goodness. Other than the cloves, it was great. (They were quite expensive too and I don't even like those nasty things.) Would be 5 stars without the cloves. Also, I added a small can of pinto beans with the kidney beans for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizdmc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Not my favorite, could've been me, but I couldn't get this one to work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States