Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I don't like Chili but my husband loves it so this is his rating. He has deemed this "THE Chili Recipe" - meaning I can stop looking & ditch all the other recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This chili was great! I threw everything into a crockpot and cooked overnight. I used 1 28oz can of pureed tomatoes and one bottle of beer, and also reduced cinamon to 1 stick. Not very spicy, but when I reheated I added some crushed dried hot pepper and some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Way too much oregeno and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Great recipe! I did not use the chile pepper and instead of the whole tomatoes I used 1-28oz can of crushed tomatoes because that was all I had, and I put in half the amount of cinammon. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This was really good - dont let the cinammon stick fool you. Good flavor but I gave it 4 stars cuz I thought it had no heat at all - next time I'll add some extra cayanne or something. Real good though - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
Very good. However, I did not use ground beef. I wanted more "body" and decided to cube my beef (1/4 inch cubes,very small). It gave the chili great texture. I had no whole cloves and used a "pinch" of ground instead. I also added a small can of tomato paste to thicken. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YBRICK423

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This recipe is absolutely FANTASTIC! I made this tonight for myself and some friends. I changed it up a bit by adding about a teaspoon of crushed red pepper and an additional teaspoon of chili powder. Also, I could not find a chili pepper, so I used about 8 chopped Fresno Peppers. All in all, I think I came up with the same effect. This is a HIGHLY recommended recipe!! All the guys at your table will enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
pretty yummy, I guess I wish it had a little more zip. chili in the more traditional sense, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
This is by far the best chili i have ever had.If you prefer canned chili to this something is very wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2004
This was pretty good. I am not sure I liked the taste of the cinnamon and cloves. Might try it again with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States