Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
My husband and I both thought this was very good, and he's picky. We like spice so we added some hot sauce, but that's the only change I made. Great with corn bread. I would definitely make it again, but I'm not sure it's THE chili recipe yet. But thanks for a great dinner last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
Excellent recipe. This one's a keeper. I disagree that the cinnamon needs to be reduced. I made this recipe for my husband and son (both of whom are pretty tough when it comes to chili they like). They both did not mind the cinnamon. What I did, however, was put in a fresh red hot pepper from my garden (Sorry I don't know what kind, but, trust me, it was pretty hot.) The hot pepper overpowered the cinnamon taste and made it just right! We all like picante, so the degree of heat was right for us. I did break up both cinnamon sticks and put them with the whole cloves in a tea ball before adding them to the pot. The only other change I made was with the tomatoes. I used one 28-oz can of whole tomatoes and two fresh tomatoes (cut up into large chunks). I served the chili on hot rice. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
Too many beans for my taste and it wasn't soupy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
We made this recipe with ground buffalo meat from our farm. We cooked it for 8 hours in a slow cooker, so we added extra chopped tomato. Our guests were so impressed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
This recipe was given a real test when I prepared this for my brother-in-law... a True Texan. He loved it and gave me a big compliment by saying "You should move to Texas if you can make Chili like this"! I did reduce the cinnamon by one stick as suggested and put it in the teaball with the cloves. All the spices blended so perfectly ...so much so that you really couldn't specifically taste any of them individually. I asked my company if they could taste the cinnamon in it and once I mentioned it they said they could but not before. I also would say that the "heat index" was perfect for this. My husband loves things extra spicy and he did not get up to find something to "add" to it. However he did say that he wouldn't have wanted it any more mild. On the other hand my 82 year old mother felt it was hotter than she would have liked yet she was able to eat it! But for the most part I think this fell into a perfect area to please everyone and people that want it spicier can always add drops of hotsauce. I also made a vegetarian variation of this in a 1/2 batch while I had all the ingredients out by using Boca's ground beef soy packets....didn't want my 18 year old to feel left out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I don't like Chili but my husband loves it so this is his rating. He has deemed this "THE Chili Recipe" - meaning I can stop looking & ditch all the other recipes I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This chili was great! I threw everything into a crockpot and cooked overnight. I used 1 28oz can of pureed tomatoes and one bottle of beer, and also reduced cinamon to 1 stick. Not very spicy, but when I reheated I added some crushed dried hot pepper and some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Way too much oregeno and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dixon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
Great recipe! I did not use the chile pepper and instead of the whole tomatoes I used 1-28oz can of crushed tomatoes because that was all I had, and I put in half the amount of cinammon. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This was really good - dont let the cinammon stick fool you. Good flavor but I gave it 4 stars cuz I thought it had no heat at all - next time I'll add some extra cayanne or something. Real good though - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States