Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Very good!! Next, time I would double the amount of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I've made this recipe twice, and I think it's very tasty if you add some more kick to it. I like my chili thick and meaty, so I reduced some of the vegetables. I cooked the meat separately and drained off all the fat. I used only 1.5 tablespoons of oil (asking for 5 is crazy), I didn't add the cinammon, I used only two cans of tomatoes, I used only 1 large onion, and only 1.5 cans of kidney beans. The key to making this recipe great is adding more spice. I put 3 jalapenos, a full tablespoon of chili powder, and 1-2 teaspoons of cayenne powder. I think the cayenne is critical to heating it up. Fortunately, the recipe is very forgiving, and I would taste it every ten minutes and add more cayenne until it reached the level of heat I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This was ok. Not my favorite. It was vrey bland and a touch boring. I added a lot of extra spices to try to make up for the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Travis Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
wasnt fantastic to be honest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.
Living In: Badingham, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My husband, whom hates beans, loves this chili! I use ground turkey instead of beef and add in whatever vegetables I have on hand (bell peppers, mushrooms, etc). Once used double the chili powder in place of cumin, and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homosassa, Florida, USA
Living In: Freeport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I added a can of mexicorn. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
Wonderful! The entire family loves it - hubby claims it's the best chili he's ever had - I think I'd have to agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaphneB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
So yummy! I made a half batch and put it in my crockpot to simmer all day long. The only changes (other than halving all the ingredients) I made were the following: I left out the paprika and the cloves, because I didn't have any on hand. I used 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon in place of the cinnamon sticks, and I put in much less oregano than the recipe required...I'm not a huge fan of oregano. The really great thing about this recipe is that it is so versatile. You can control the heat by which chile pepper you use (i used poblano and the chili was only mildly spicy), and you can adjust the herbs and spices to your taste. It's a very forgiving recipe! The chili turned out wonderful, and the flavor from simmering all day was amazing. If you use a crockpot to make this recipe, put the beans in only for the last hour of cooking on low heat. That way they don't soften up too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky_ME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Turner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Great chili! I did add 1/2 a jar of salsa & a small can of tomato paste to it. Also used diced tomatoes instead of whole. Will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I gave it a 4 because it wasn't very spicy like Chili should be and real chili doesn't have beans so I left those out. I used 3 Tablespoons of Chili Powder, added 1 teaspoon of cayenne and 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. My wife couldn't stand the chili because of the cinnamon sticks. I have to admit it did make it taste strange. I think I will leave it out next time but all in all the chili was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States