Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
I have say this was probably the worst chili recipe I have ever tried. I followed the recipe except for the beans I only had black beans. I realize that a chili like this uses red beans but it would not change the flavor that much. I spent an hour doctoring it and still couldn't fix it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Loved this recipe! Not quite as spicy as I like it but perfect to please everyone's palate. I loved the subtle spices and as I am a cinnamon tragic, this will definitely be the only chilli recipe in our house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
I've made a lot of chili over the years, but didn't have my recipe handy. So I found this one on allrecipes because generally the site and its' users do a great job. Unfortunately this recipe was a big disappointment. I reduced the amount of cinnamon a bit, since I really didn't want to taste it explicitly. I also reduced the oregano a little because I've had it over-power dishes in the past. I left the full amount of cumin in there, which was a big mistake. The cumin became the predominant flavor. Both my wife and I felt it really didn't taste like chili at all. It wasn't bad, just not chili. If you put enough fixings on it (sour cream, cheddar cheese, etc) then it tastes better, but there's better recipes. My past recipes called for more chili powder and never had cumin in them. I would consider adding cumin in the future, but a far less amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
very awesome, :) will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vancouver Handyman
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is awesome chili. I've modified it slightly for slow cooking in the crock pot. Forget the oil and just place the raw meat in the bottom of the crock and set it for 6 hours. Also, I add a can of whole kernel corn (drained) and a couple of chipotle peppers. The cinnamon and the smokey heat from the peppers make for a very interesting combination, and it never gets tired regardless of how many bowls you gobble down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vancouver Handyman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Superb. Made 1.5 batch, and used 1 habañero and 1 jalapeño - that way you get some heat in the front and some more at the back. The cinnamon and cloves really give it a nice savory punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Gamblin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great, just added some beef and it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haggebaby
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! I omitted the cinnamon sticks, used canned garlic chopped tomatoes in place of the garlic & whole tomatoes, added habanero peppers and one tablespoon of cayenne pepper. Very spicy but just the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great recipe. I always add a tablespoon of cocoa to my chili. Gives it some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Loved this ....best chilli I've ever made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States