Chili con Carne II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vancouver Handyman
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is awesome chili. I've modified it slightly for slow cooking in the crock pot. Forget the oil and just place the raw meat in the bottom of the crock and set it for 6 hours. Also, I add a can of whole kernel corn (drained) and a couple of chipotle peppers. The cinnamon and the smokey heat from the peppers make for a very interesting combination, and it never gets tired regardless of how many bowls you gobble down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vancouver Handyman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Superb. Made 1.5 batch, and used 1 habañero and 1 jalapeño - that way you get some heat in the front and some more at the back. The cinnamon and cloves really give it a nice savory punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Gamblin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great, just added some beef and it's a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haggebaby
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! I omitted the cinnamon sticks, used canned garlic chopped tomatoes in place of the garlic & whole tomatoes, added habanero peppers and one tablespoon of cayenne pepper. Very spicy but just the way I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Great recipe. I always add a tablespoon of cocoa to my chili. Gives it some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hope, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Loved this ....best chilli I've ever made :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this yesterday and substituted ground cinnamon in place of the sticks. My husbands comments when I asked him how it taste, it doesn't have much flavor! My grown daughter said she didn't like the cinnamon. I can't taste so I have to go by whatever they say. Was so hoping for the FINAL chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Grover Parry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I liked it a lot, but my son thought it was too spicy. I did wonder if all that oregano was necessary. Also, I drained several tablespoons of fat off after browning the meat; wondered why the recipe didn't suggest this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Delicious! Left out cloves because I didn't know if they would dissolve in the chili and it seemed like they could be too hard on your teeth if you bit down on them. Any feedback on this? Used two jalapeños for peppers. I am going to bundle up the herbs for gifts and /or bake sale fundraisers. A great simple and classic chili. A new staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
The only chilli I make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Chili I

Coffee and beer give this thick, spicy, beefy chili deep layers of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States