Chili con Carne I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
I made half this recipe for about 40 people. Got lots of compliments on it. However, it wasn't spicy enough for my taste, so I added Cayenne pepper. I'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I scaled this recipe back considerably to make enough for 6-8 people and it was great. It freezes very well too-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
It was a good basis for a simple chili if you don't have a mix packet; however, it needs more uumph. We added salt, more chili powder and more onion. After that, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
This is now going to be my permanent favorite(and only)chili recipe.It turned out exactly the way I hoped it would.Most of my family cleaned their bowls and asked for more.The little kids weren't to keen on it,but they ate it.Next time I'll reduce the chili powder as they found it a bit spicy.The rest of my family agreed it was just perfect,though.I made a few changes;I added some frozen corn and used navy beans instead of pinto beans,as my family isn't crazy on the big ones.All in all,a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
I added about some water to the mixture as the last ingredient, since many had complained about it being too thick, then let the chili simmer without a lid for until it was the perfect balance of soupy and thick. I thought it was perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
My husband and I both agreed that this was one of the worst chili recipes we've ever tried. I followed the recipe as directed but WAY too thick and bitter. I even tried to "doctor" it up, but it still was terribly bitter. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Newell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
The beans turned out really hard...they weren't cooked enough and i followed all the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Surprise, Arizona, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I really liked this recipe. It was simple and VERY easy to make. If you're short on time, you can also substitute the dry pinto beans for already prepared canned beans, but I would wash and drain them first. I'd definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
One of the best chili recipes I've found in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I made 1/2 the batch. A little bland but with potential. No one in my family of 8 liked it so I had a lot to play with. I doctored it up bowl by bowl until I found the right blend. On the second 1/2 batch I added 6 small cans of sliced mushrooms about 1 cup yellow mustard (be careful with the mustard, just enough to lighten the color a little) and about 1/2 cup worcestershire sauce. I also used 5 onions diced small and canned kidney beans instead of cooking raw beans. Everyone LOVES it this time around! I can't even freeze any because they eat it up so fast! Next time I will make the full batch! This is very quick, CHEAP and easy when using canned beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States