Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This is better than pre-packaged mixes. Omit the flour in the mix. If you'd like to thicken your chili, use refried beans instead--no one will notice-I promise! Use 1/4 cup at a time until it's as thick as you'd like it. Use the seasoning mix as follows: for a small batch of chili use 2T of mix with 1 lb meat of choice, any other veg additions and 1 can of drained/rinsed beans (or about 6-8 oz dry beans, cooked), 1 can diced tomatoes and 1 can reg sized can tomato sauce. For a bigger batch use about 4T of mix with 2 lbs meat, 1 pound of dry beans (cooked) or about 3 cans rinsed/drained beans, 2 cans reg sized tomato sauce, 1 (or 2) cans diced tomatoes, and some water if you'd like to thin it. This is only to give others an idea of how much mix for the beans/meat/tomato ratio. It's very forgiving. This makes a very very good plain ole fashioned no frills chili. Also, if you want this just warm...decrease pepper flakes to 1 tsp--it's still plenty warm for those who don't like it hot (like me!). I did jump up the chili powder amount to 2 level TB instead of 4 tsp. This is a well-rounded mix--I was not left with that..'there's just something missing' feeling. It was ALL there! Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I will never buy a package mix again. I did make a couple wee changes though. I added a tsp seasoned salt and increased the sugar to a TBS. I also left out the minced onion since I used a whole chopped onion sauteed with the meat. I used this with my beer chili recipe and the results were amazing. My husband couldn't stop raving about it even the next day. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
This seasoning is right on! I was making a recipe that called for chili seasoning mix since I was out, I used this and it worked perfect! From now on I will use this instead of the store bought kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNFLWR24L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
The only drawback to this recipe is that it doesn't have directions of what to add with the meat. I pretty much followed the directions for the seasoning...I doubled it, and added it to 3 lbs. ground beef/turkey mixture with two cans diced tomatoes, a small can of tomato paste and a can of Ro-tel tomatoes. It was delicious! I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I give this two stars because the flour overpowers the mix. I'm sure it is great leaving out the flour - but then I wouldn't be reviewing this recipe as posted. I was going to toss it - but saved it by adding (ironically) a packet of taco seasoning - which diluted the flour. Thanks anyway - will actually make this again - but without the flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Delicious start for chili. I only used 2T of flour, and I added 2t extra of chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Used this when making Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili from this site. It was great! I will definitely have this on hand for all my chili making! Thank you, Sara, for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
So good! I love to make homemade instead of the prepackaged mixes (that I have no clue what is in them). I used a little bit less red pepper (I only had the flakes). The rest I followed the recipe. Used this with Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili from this site. Big hit tonight! I really appreciate these homemade mixes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I made this today and it was great I left out the flour and lowered the salt but it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I will use this from now on, and this is coming from a girl who refuses to use chili "season packets", but as a previous reviewer stated "this is right on"! I added a tbsp. more chili powder and a can of Red Gold "picante" tomato sauce to our adult version and it was fantastic! No need to use the jalapenos, hubby liked it just fine. Thanks so much Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States