Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great seasoning. I used the exact measurements. My family is not big on spice, so next time I will use less heat. But this recipe was perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I loved this! Took the advice of others: reduced flour to 2 TBLS, added additional chili powder and used garlic salt vs minced garlic. Used apprx half the batch for homemade chili recipe I have and have the remaining half for a future use. I am so excited! Remind me why I buy seasoning when I have it all at my fingertips?? Thanks again for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I started making chili without realizing that I was out of the chili packets of seasoning you buy at the store. So I found this recipe and was very pleased with the results! I don't think I'll go back to overpaying for the packets anymore! I didn't have the dried onion and I cut back the red pepper so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
SO many wonderful flavors, with a kick of heat in this great chili seasoning recipe! Definitely is a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Since I prefer my alterations over the original, I can't give it a 5. But, as a base to tweak from, it's tops!!! I, like a lot of reviewers, use 2 tablespoons of flour. I then slow cook it to really unlock the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Thought it was a very good seasoning mix. I admit that I did make one slight change (Iusually don't the first time I try a recipe). I took the advise from some reviewers and cut back on the flour, I used 2 tablespoons. The reason I used less floue is that I didn't want my chili thicken to much. I made enough to fill a large spice jar. That way I'll have it on hand when I make chili again and it won't be long. Thanks Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I added this mix to canned tomatoes, 1 lb of ground beef and 1 lb of pinto beans. It was too spicy and the flavor wasn't pleasant (I reduced flour to 2 TBS). I was hoping for something similar to the grocery store seasoning packets in flavor and spiciness, this was NOT IT, it was just spicy, but not yummy. I made it as written except the flour which I reduced and I cut back on the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I too, skipped the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Gabarra Koller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is my favorite chili recipe as well as my families! Love it, Love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is amazing stuff! I ran out of chili seasoning in the packet that I always buy from the store, and luckily had all the herbs this recipe calls for. I will NEVER use store bought seasoning again, this is a gazillion times better! I love the recipe as is, but for my husband who is not a "spicy hot" lover, I decreased the hot chili flake to 1/2 tsp and it came out perfect. I tried both with and without the flour, but the added flour just gives it a little something extra and brings it over the top! Awesome recipe, is now the only one I use for chili!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States