Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Good mix. Just too salty. Would omit salt next time and season to taste once chili is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I used this to make chili mac, and it was very good. I took another reviewer's advice and left out the flour so that I can preserve it longer, and it tasted fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Absolutely amazing chili seasoning. This was the only thing I changed in the way make my chili, and it made a positive difference. I liked my chili before, but now I love it and so did the company I tried it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Made for first time tonight and WILL NOT be the last. Great recipe. 2tbs per 1lb meat and what ever else you add is plenty of seasoning. For a lil twist, add ranch style beans, which ever flavor you like, adds a nice kick. I added 1tsp of chipotle pepper powder. Its a lil warm but awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is great! A little spicy for my family. To adjust it for us, I halved the flour and crushed red pepper on the next batch. :) Perfect for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I started using this recipe a few years ago..It is wonderful as is...However I have a 6 year old that wont touch anything spicey so I have cut back the amount of crushed red pepper in this recipe...My whole family LOVES it. I recently tried to use a store bought packet and everyone COMPLAINED that the chili tasted funny and was icky LOL. Oh, I also leave out the flour :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Godfrey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Magalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dippin Dots
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This seasoning smells fantastic. After putting the chili together, and while it's cooking it smells great. I followed the recipe as it is, but followed the advice of CookingMama and added extra chili powder and I omitted the flour. I have thrown it into the slow cooker for this evening's dinner. Can't wait! After eating the chili it has a bit of heat to it so be prepared for a kick in the mouth! This stuff was fantastic thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dippin Dots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
This makes a fabulous chili. For me, I used half of it (about 3 tablespoons) with a pound and a quarter of ground beef, 1 1/2 cups water, and one 8 oz. can of tomato sauce. I omitted the red pepper flakes because I used a medium hot chili powder, and instead of the salt, I used 2 cubes of beef bullion. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Good. Love the ability to avoid prepackaged foods but still have convenience. Took other reviewer suggestions to hold on the flour and go easy on the salt in the mix, but added them to taste as the chili cooked. Used half the mix in my first batch (1lb ground beef, 4 cans drained beans, 4 fresh tomatoes and 1/2 yellow onion chopped in the blender) and it was on the sweet side, which was good. Made 2nd batch the same way but was in the mood for a more savory taste and added 1t cocoa powder to counteract the sweet. This was also good. Will continue to use this recipe. Thank you for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the best chili seasoning ever! I only add 2 TBS of the flour and it turns out wonderfully. My family likes the spice so we add extra crushed red pepper. :) I purposely don't buy the packet junk anymore & make my own! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Hunt Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States