Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This is the best chili seasoning ever! I only add 2 TBS of the flour and it turns out wonderfully. My family likes the spice so we add extra crushed red pepper. :) I purposely don't buy the packet junk anymore & make my own! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Hunt Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Instead of 1/4 cup of flour I used 3 tbsp Cornstarch mixed with water, otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Loved the recipe. This amount of seasoning is for over 3lbs of meat. Just divide seasoning if you're using 1lb of meat. Added I can of black beans, a couple of bay leaves & one 15 oz can of tomato sauce to 1 lb of browned turkey meat with seasoning & let it cook in the slow cooker all day. Came out great! Just add whatever type of meat & beans are you're preference. You can also use crushed or whole tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. It's all about whatever your preference is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Will never buy store bought seasoning again! I left out the flour and added a touch of cinnamon and a bit more salt - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
As a chillihead with countless types of chilli powders at their disposal, I felt that it would be a great idea to utilize them in a new way rather than directly using them in cooking along with their delicious distinctive flavours and heat levels and shortly after the idea of chilli based seasoning came to mind as a perfect way to use them - and alas this recipe caught my eye on Google. I begun yesterday by using fatalii powder and fatalii crushed flakes as a base (similar heat to a habanero but very unique flavour), omitted the flour, omitted the sugar too and reduced salt a bit, added smoked paprika and put in some extra garlic and sprinkled on black pepper to the point where I thought it had enough. Wow, now this is great. And goes nicely on many different things. Seriously, everything blends so well and the chilli stands out nicely, depending on the type of chilli powder I may have to add more or less in the future. Tomorrow I'll try this with ghost pepper powder and flakes or possibly 7-pod. Now I don't think I've seen any chilli aficionados' in the reviews yet who have tried this with different/hotter powders + crushed pods, but if you are one, and want to kick this up a notch and put a twist on it, those are generally good adjustments - however if you add a milder powder like jalapeno you're better off adding in around 2.5/3 more TSP as it will certainly lose dominance in the seasoning if you don't add enough. ~ Will keep this updated as I try more combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I use this when making Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili. It is a great combination. In the Chili recipe, I substitute 1lb ground turkey and 1lb Italian Turkey Sausage for the 2lbs ground beef, for a lower calorie option. VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Just cut back on the hot stuff otherwise a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I omit the flour (and the crushed red pepper if I do not want it spicy) and use 2-3 Tbsp for a batch of chili or taco meat mix. To thicken chili a little I use refried beans - which I had read about on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. My husband wanted chili for dinner. I had the hamburger and the beans but no chili mix. Went online and found this little lifesaver! I didn't have the dried minced garlic or onions but I used onion salt and garlic powder instead. I also added wayyyy less flour. Only about 1 tablespoon. Needless to say Hubby was VERY happy with his dinner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
A staple in our house. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa_Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States