Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Will never buy store bought seasoning again! I left out the flour and added a touch of cinnamon and a bit more salt - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
As a chillihead with countless types of chilli powders at their disposal, I felt that it would be a great idea to utilize them in a new way rather than directly using them in cooking along with their delicious distinctive flavours and heat levels and shortly after the idea of chilli based seasoning came to mind as a perfect way to use them - and alas this recipe caught my eye on Google. I begun yesterday by using fatalii powder and fatalii crushed flakes as a base (similar heat to a habanero but very unique flavour), omitted the flour, omitted the sugar too and reduced salt a bit, added smoked paprika and put in some extra garlic and sprinkled on black pepper to the point where I thought it had enough. Wow, now this is great. And goes nicely on many different things. Seriously, everything blends so well and the chilli stands out nicely, depending on the type of chilli powder I may have to add more or less in the future. Tomorrow I'll try this with ghost pepper powder and flakes or possibly 7-pod. Now I don't think I've seen any chilli aficionados' in the reviews yet who have tried this with different/hotter powders + crushed pods, but if you are one, and want to kick this up a notch and put a twist on it, those are generally good adjustments - however if you add a milder powder like jalapeno you're better off adding in around 2.5/3 more TSP as it will certainly lose dominance in the seasoning if you don't add enough. ~ Will keep this updated as I try more combinations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I use this when making Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili. It is a great combination. In the Chili recipe, I substitute 1lb ground turkey and 1lb Italian Turkey Sausage for the 2lbs ground beef, for a lower calorie option. VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Just cut back on the hot stuff otherwise a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I omit the flour (and the crushed red pepper if I do not want it spicy) and use 2-3 Tbsp for a batch of chili or taco meat mix. To thicken chili a little I use refried beans - which I had read about on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. My husband wanted chili for dinner. I had the hamburger and the beans but no chili mix. Went online and found this little lifesaver! I didn't have the dried minced garlic or onions but I used onion salt and garlic powder instead. I also added wayyyy less flour. Only about 1 tablespoon. Needless to say Hubby was VERY happy with his dinner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
A staple in our house. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa_Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Will never buy package chili seasoning mix again I did omit the flour didn't see a need for it. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Awesome!!!! I agree with other reviewers! No more packets for me, this went right in my favorites recipe box! I did follow others advise and only did 2T flour & a little extra chili powder! Sooooooo good, we all loved it and my hubby raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great seasoning mix. I'll never buy packets from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States