Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
This seasoning is right on! I was making a recipe that called for chili seasoning mix since I was out, I used this and it worked perfect! From now on I will use this instead of the store bought kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNFLWR24L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
I will never buy a package mix again. I did make a couple wee changes though. I added a tsp seasoned salt and increased the sugar to a TBS. I also left out the minced onion since I used a whole chopped onion sauteed with the meat. I used this with my beer chili recipe and the results were amazing. My husband couldn't stop raving about it even the next day. Thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
I will use this from now on, and this is coming from a girl who refuses to use chili "season packets", but as a previous reviewer stated "this is right on"! I added a tbsp. more chili powder and a can of Red Gold "picante" tomato sauce to our adult version and it was fantastic! No need to use the jalapenos, hubby liked it just fine. Thanks so much Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
I left out the flour and sugar in this mix, then used 2.5 Tbl in the "Heartwarming Chili" recipe also found on this site. WOW! I've never made a better chili. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I omitted the flour because I didn't need it. This is a nice chili mild flavor. I used more chili powder and ground cayenne powder to hotten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
This recipe is a delightful surprise. I don't expect to purchase the expensive seasoning packets again since I can make this mixture far more economically and enjoy it just as much. Thanks so much Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
Really enjoyed this. Never made my own chili spice before and will use this from now on. It was a little 'hot' for our tastes.. with so much red pepper so i halved the red pepper and it still was almost too spicy .. so I will go even a little less on the pepper next time. Also did not add the flour. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2004
All I can say is that I will never buy another package of Chili seasoning AGAIN! This was awesome and so convenient to have on hand. I scaled the recipe down to 2 servings and that is perfect for one batch of chili for us. That is using a pound of ground beef, 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes and a 14oz can of tomato sauce and kidney beans. I also make Basic Corn Muffins recipe from this site with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This is fantastic!!! It made my Chili incrediable!!! i love making my own seasoning so i know whats in it! Thanks sooo much for this great mix!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I always knew my husband loved chili, but neither of us knew how much until I tried this recipe. He's still raving about how good it was 3 days later and asking me when I'm making more. I've decided I'm going to make up batches of the mix to include in my Christmas packages this year, along with a bunch of other goodies I'm making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States