Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is my favorite chili recipe as well as my families! Love it, Love it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is amazing stuff! I ran out of chili seasoning in the packet that I always buy from the store, and luckily had all the herbs this recipe calls for. I will NEVER use store bought seasoning again, this is a gazillion times better! I love the recipe as is, but for my husband who is not a "spicy hot" lover, I decreased the hot chili flake to 1/2 tsp and it came out perfect. I tried both with and without the flour, but the added flour just gives it a little something extra and brings it over the top! Awesome recipe, is now the only one I use for chili!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I was making chili for a dinner that included our granddaughters (3 and 5) so left out the crushed red chili peppers as they don't like spicy. I was very surprised by how tasty the chili was without any heat at all. Very good recipe - no need to buy chili mix pre-packaged again. I would add the crushed chili peppers if I was just making for us but if taking to a pot-luck would leave them out and let people add there own according to their own taste! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Perfect! I omitted the flour, as one reviewer said, and thickened it with refried beans. 2Tbs per pound is just right. I did up the chili powder to 2Tbs as suggested, and used oregano in place of the basil since I was out. I only made enough for one batch to make sure I liked it. But I am now going to make up enough for several batches so it's always on hand. Thank you! Great mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
This was just perfect for my beef chili and I will use this instead of the packet of chili seasoning from now on! I did not use the flour, as my chili was already thick enough. I did add a TBSP of cocoa powder to add some richness. This chili was some of the best I have made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I doubled everything except the flour. Had to use onion and garlic powders as substitutes so I didn't double. I did not quite double the salt either. I used approx. 2 lbs ground turkey, 2 cans diced tomatoes, 2 cans tomato sauce, 2 cans pinto beans, I can kidney beans, then diluted with about 1 cup chicken broth and 1 cup water. Slow cooker on low. UPDATE: again doubled all but flour AND salt (1.5). about 1/2 cup per single batch of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I used this for the tomato sauce recipe. It was a great blend for the sauce. I doubled the recipe so it will be available when I need more for the next time I make the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
used this recipe w/ 3 lbs ground beef, 2 cans chili beans, 2 cans tomato sauce & 1 can diced tomatoes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I looked up this recipe because I am new to gluten free cooking (GF) and the chili seasonings in my local store all had wheat flour in them. Because I made this on the fly I did not have all of the ingredients on hand so I substituted a few. I used 2 T GF all purpose flour (King Arthurs). Since I did not have dried onion or garlic on hand, I used 1 tsp each of onion and garlic powder. I ran out of cumin so I only used 1 tsp of that. The chili came out great. I will make my own from now on. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Love this recipe. I scale it up to make several servings. Bottle it to make it easier when I make chili. If you leave the flour out, you use 2 tbsp. per pound of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 261) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States