Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
We tried this last night, at first I didn't notice the spicey/hot. Then it hit me WOW! Next time I might reduce the spice a little bit. I only added one tablespoon of flour. Per 2.5 pounds of hamburger we added 5 TBLS. of mix. Overall great mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
We have actually used this several times. I will make chili at least once a month here in cold country lol. I make it exactly as its written add 2lb home grown beef, roughly 6 cans of rinsed beans any variety ( we like to mix them), 2 green/red peppers, 1-2 cans diced tomatoes, 3 cans of tomato sauce diced onion and the entire bowl of seasoning into my crockpot, then add water to the brim( its really not that much) where it sits on low for 6-8 hours. As for the comments on the flour made it taste like flour in order to change the chemical structure of the flour it has to be hot enough long enough then it blends nicely. Just as if you were making gravy, if it doesn't cook long enough it tastes the same. Hope this helps :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovelyfamilyofmine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I've used this for chili a few times. It has great flavor, but is surprisingly mild. For a spicier chili, add more chili powder and crushed red pepper. It lends a good flavor without the heat, so even my kids like chili when I use this seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I leave the flour out of the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seelymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Excellent feedback from my family. A tad spicy, so next time I will cut back on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This recipe is very good as written. I will cut back on the crushed pepper next time as my kids found it a little too spicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
will never use store bought again, Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Great seasoning. I used the exact measurements. My family is not big on spice, so next time I will use less heat. But this recipe was perfect. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I loved this! Took the advice of others: reduced flour to 2 TBLS, added additional chili powder and used garlic salt vs minced garlic. Used apprx half the batch for homemade chili recipe I have and have the remaining half for a future use. I am so excited! Remind me why I buy seasoning when I have it all at my fingertips?? Thanks again for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I started making chili without realizing that I was out of the chili packets of seasoning you buy at the store. So I found this recipe and was very pleased with the results! I don't think I'll go back to overpaying for the packets anymore! I didn't have the dried onion and I cut back the red pepper so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids. It was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States