Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Really good blend. I use a gluten free AP flour in place of the white flour to avoid wheat for my husband. Easy to make in bulk and I use it as a taco seasoning as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This made the best chili I think I've ever made. No more store bought seasoning pack for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I left out the garlic because i am allergic and it was still excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Excellent start. Here is what I changed. I omitted the flour and sugar (didn't need it thicker as I use angel hair pasta noodles in mine). I only used 3 teaspoons of chili powder, doubled the dried onion to 2 tablespoons and instead of using fresh garlic and salt I put in 3 teaspoons of garlic salt. LOVED this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Just tried this seasoning last night because I didn't have any chili seasoning packets on hand. I omitted the flour based on reviews and cut down the red pepper to 1 tsp as I was concerned about the heat. It turned out DELICIOUS! And now I won't have to buy anymore chili seasoning packets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I cut the amount of flour to 2 T. as others suggested (that made it just the right amount.) Also needed quite a bit more chili powder, with these changes made it perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a very good start for those that don't want that bold chili taste. This mix did not have enough chili powder for my taste. Instead of 4 teaspoons you should start out with 4 Tablespoons of chili powder. I also added 1 teaspoon of paprika. I also only used 2 Tablespoons of flour. When browning my 2.5 lbs ground beef I put about a tablespoon of chili powder in. Drain the grease then put about 3 to 4 tablespoons of the mix in with the ground beef to coat the meat as if you were making gravy. Add 1 large can of tomato juice, 4 cans 14.5 oz ea. of diced tomatoes. 70 oz's of undrained kidney beans, 1 large diced yellow onion, 1 diced green pepper, 1 diced red pepper, 2 stalks of diced celery. Cook until veggies are tender. Add straight chili powder to taste and you have hit a homerun. As I said, this is a very good base. just not enough chili powder for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gas City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very flavorful, we really enjoyed this seasoning mix. Next time we'll back off the crushed red pepper a bit. It was a tad spicy for my toddlers, although they powered through it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Great recipe! I followed the others advice and left out the flour, and added some more chili powder and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This is a great mix! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States