Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
I have NEVER tried to make chili without store bought seasoning mix but I was feeling frisky tonight. This is a good blend of spices to which you can add your own personal touches. I didn't have enough chili powder but I did have some dried Ancho chiles that I pan roasted and then reconsituted with a little water before adding to my crockpot. Gosh, was that awesome! If you can find those, use em! They add such a nice, smoky flavor and they're mild too. Other than that change, (work with what ya got), I made the recipe as written. Tomato sauce, ground round, a little added water and NO FLOUR! If you need to thicken, use cornstarch or as another reviewer mentioned, use some refried beans. It was awesome! Sorry for the super long review. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheepy
Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Made it without flour, allowed chili to simmer and cook down without the thickener. All in all a decent blend but way to much heat for those that like a milder chili. I didn't like the sweetness the sugar added. And the cumin - a signature chili flavor - was overrun by the red pepper. A few tweaks, good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by arizonacymzz
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Great recipe. I add 1tsp of the following: hot oriental mustard, orange habanero powder and smokehouse maple seasoning. Sometimes I cut the flour in half so I can use the mix for other foods I want to spice up. I try to keep a ziplock of this always ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Easy to mix. Used this with the Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili from this site and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I will no longer use plain old chili powder and garlic powder. This was really good! I cut the recipe in half for one batch of chili, decreased the salt a bit and eliminated the flour and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Left out flour and worked fine in my recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tyson (Ty) Maltby
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I had a package of chili mix on hand and decided to blend it with most of the ingredients listed here with the exception of the sugar just to use it up so that it wouldn't get used to make a pot of chili by itself. It's very simple to make and easy I store the remainder in a recycled glass jar. I added Paprika, Lemon pepper seasoning salt, garlic salt and buttermilk cornmeal instead of flour. This picture is the seasoning that I added to my crockpot before stirring it into the pre-cooked beef and bacon, Pinto and red beans, tomato sauce with green chiles and tomato juice to thin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyson (Ty) Maltby

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pelham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Excellent, its my go to seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I cut back on the sugar and the flour by about half. We love this. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This makes a great chili
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States