Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Will never buy store bought seasoning again! I left out the flour and added a touch of cinnamon and a bit more salt - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Real good, especially if you're a chilli aficionado who has a large range of different chilli powders and want to put them to use in another way - Chipotle powder goes really well and adds a smokey element, ghost pepper adds atomic heat and nice flavour, fatalii adds an exotic taste and a similar amount of heat - Generally the milder powders need to be doubled if you have chilli tolerance, say if you use jalapeno/chipotle/serrano while the hotter powders like ghost peppers or even moruga scorpions should be halved since they have so much concentrated heat and may take over the flavour of everything else. Remember, less is always better than more when testing the heat/flavour balance as you can always go up and not down. Slight modifications like adding paprika and rosemary are always welcome, personally I ALWAYS omit the flour and unless using chipotle powder usually omit the sugar as it's so smokey it needs the sugar. And finally you can always upscale this by 3 times or so as it always seems to run out due to being so addictive and so perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I use this when making Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili. It is a great combination. In the Chili recipe, I substitute 1lb ground turkey and 1lb Italian Turkey Sausage for the 2lbs ground beef, for a lower calorie option. VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Just cut back on the hot stuff otherwise a good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I omit the flour (and the crushed red pepper if I do not want it spicy) and use 2-3 Tbsp for a batch of chili or taco meat mix. To thicken chili a little I use refried beans - which I had read about on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
This was a fantastic recipe. My husband wanted chili for dinner. I had the hamburger and the beans but no chili mix. Went online and found this little lifesaver! I didn't have the dried minced garlic or onions but I used onion salt and garlic powder instead. I also added wayyyy less flour. Only about 1 tablespoon. Needless to say Hubby was VERY happy with his dinner! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
A staple in our house. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa_Jane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Will never buy package chili seasoning mix again I did omit the flour didn't see a need for it. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
Awesome!!!! I agree with other reviewers! No more packets for me, this went right in my favorites recipe box! I did follow others advise and only did 2T flour & a little extra chili powder! Sooooooo good, we all loved it and my hubby raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great seasoning mix. I'll never buy packets from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States