Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Seasoning is great just the way it is. No need to modify anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Made this over the weekend when I realized I forgot to buy my usual packet at the store. So happy with the results! Didn't have basil so I used oregano and it was great! My husband asked what I did different to the chili? He loved it too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Been using this recipe for about 2 years now. I don't buy the packets anymore. Kids and Hubby love my chili because of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I love trying new chili recipes as chili is one of my winter staples. It's very easy to whip up your own batch of seasoning mix to have on hand rather than run to the store if it's not in your pantry...ask me how I know! Plus, I like having control over the seasonings/heat/salt and don't have to worry about msg or other preservatives. I've already made several batches of this and will be keeping it "in stock" to use in my chili from now on and will not be using the pre-packaged chili seasoning mixes any more. I definitely recommend making several recipes at once if you make a lot of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Per other reviewers who said it did not need flour. Did not add the flour or sugar. It does not need sugar if it is slow cooked. I used 4 full rounded tsp. of chili powder, 1 level teaspoon of chili flakes & everything else was according to the recipe. I used 5 T. of this Seasoning for 1+ pound of each of the following: Ground Sirloin, Ground Chicken & Ground Pork, all mixed together in one pot! Cooked the "meats" with 2 diced onions, drained fat. Used four regular sized cans of chopped stewed tomatoes and 1 can Hunts Garlic & Herb Tomato Sauce (big). Sorry for the lack of measurements. This is great seasoning for "Family Friendly" Chili. Pouring rain outside, fire in the fire place, everyone fed! 5 stars! Everyone liked it. Will probably be in even better tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I always buy the package seasoning. Ease and quality are why. So when I came across this recipe I gave it a try! OMG what a mistake to be buying the packages when I can use this! Used 3/4 of it for a batch of chili in a crock pot, 3 qt. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Awesome flavour. I use this seasoning every time I make chili now and the family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I'll never buy packaged again. I omitted the flour preferring to just cook my chili down over a long period of time to thicken. I did double the chili powder and cumin but left everyting else alone. I/we eat a lot of chili so I make this in big batches. I keep this in a container by the stove ready for use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Wonderful full flavor for chili. I also used some on fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tikaani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I thought this was an excellent chili seasoning in comparison to store bought. I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be way too salty. I had to add extra salsa, sugar, tomato sauce, and a raw potato to counter act the saltiness. With that being said, I will omit the salt and add to taste. The spice had excellent flavor and my husband said that it was the best chili I have made in about ten years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 101-110 (of 289) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States