Chili Seasoning Mix II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2015
the flavor is amazing! i made it first without crushed red pepper and it was perfect. next time i included the pepper and it was way too hot for me! this time, only a little crushed red pepper. we'll see...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Alan Hubert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I NO Longer buy any Chili Seasoning after using this Recipe. I used to Buy McCormicks Chili Seasoning cause that was my Seasoning of Choice. After this Recipe I No longer buy any other Seasoning. Since I like a Little Extra Spice, I add more Pepper Flakes then Normal. Great Recipe, I'd recommend this to any Chili Lovers out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jwarner75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This is an amazing recipe with a lot of flavor. I omitted the flour but otherwise followed as directed. I add this seasoning to other dishes to give them a little extra flavor. For example, I added a half teaspoon to the Herb Crusted Walleye recipe posted on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
AMAZING !! I've been hooked for the past 20 years on a product called "Bowl O' Red". It's kind of pricey @ $13/lb. 1pound lasts me a couple months as I use this as a rub for smoking meats, for taco meat, Fajita rub, and of course making chili. I love TexMex cooking. I'm retired now and in an attempt to save some money but still have a good tasting mix, I thought I would give this a try. I made this mix exactly to the recipe and ran it through my blender to powder it. I sampled this mix and then compared to the Bowl O' Red. Very good, and Very close. My tongue said add 1 more Tsp of N.Mexico red chili powder, salt, and sugar. Now it's almost identical. Looks a little different but tastes great. I quadrupled the recipe and now I have a big batch. I'm good for the next 2 months. It saves me 1/2 the price or more of my old favorite. Thanks again allrecipes !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
As written I don't think I'd like this recipe, but with a few changes it's amazing! I first made this when I started chili without realizing I didn't have any McCormick chili seasoning packets. Now I'll never buy them again! First, I omitted the flour completely. I use tomato paste in my chili, so it doesn't need thickening. I used 1-2 additional teaspoons chili powder. I cut the crushed red pepper in half, and added a pinch of cayenne pepper. I left out the dried onion and garlic, instead chopping up a large fresh onion and mincing 2-3 large cloves of garlic. I did also use a half tbsp garlic powder, but I love garlic. The rest of the recipe I followed as written. I use an entire batch of this seasoning for one pot of chili and it is fantastic! My whole family loves it, they didn't even realize I had run out of seasoning packets but they did think the chili was better than usual. With some changes to suit your own tastes this is a keeper. I really don't recommend that anyone use the flour as called for in this recipe, however. If you need to thicken your chili, try adding a small can of tomato paste, some refried beans, or even a tbsp of corn starch mixed into a little bit of water - any amount of flour is going to overpower the flavor of your chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
I like this very much. I prefer to make home made mixes, much better than buying the packaged ones with too much sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie-0-Toole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This recipe makes it so easy to make your own chili seasoning and not rely on store bought. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Best seasoning mix for chili out there. Better than anything pre-packaged. I agree, you might want to take it easy with the flour because it can over power the flavor of the mix. I used 1/8 cup instead on 1/4 and it turned out fine. Other that that, this recipe is perfect as is. We make chili a lot here, so I'll be making several batches of this and packaging it up into little baggies. Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hartman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Had no cumin last night so it lacked depth but was super tasty - I made it into a paste before adding it to the meat with the juice of from a tin of tomatoes - I like the idea of making this x 3 and storing it in a pint jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Amazing! This is a great way to control your salt and make a wonderful chili. Everyone asks me about the seasoning...I never tell! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States