Chili Seasoning Mix I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This worked perfectly for me. I'm in a location where I can't find pre-packaged Chili Seasoning Mixes and this did the trick! I found the amounts to be a good start and allowed me to feel more confident in altering the flavors of the chili I was making. I made extra, placing in little jars and gave it to the people who attended the gathering, with a list of suggested uses. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
I LOVE THIS, I USE IT ALL THE TIME, AND IT SAVES ME SO MUCH TIME, IT IS JUST ENOUGH FOR ONE TIME USE. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
The perfect blend of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Really good. Used this for the Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili recipe. Substituted red pepper - like the kind they set out at pizza joints - for the cayenne, and ignored the seasoned pepper, figured that substitution would make it spicy enough. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pass Christian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Auburn University, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
So excellent! I just up the thyme and oregano to a full teaspoon. Can't use anything else now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alysia313

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is a great seasoning mix, I didn't follow the exact measurments but used all the seasonings and spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Made this to go into the "bangin steak rub" from this site, which was an awesome rub for our steaks. I am going to try this in chili soon. How can it be chili seasoning mix without any chili powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Just fixed this with some combo lean ground turkey/ground beef for a healthier chili. I'm on a diet program right now with very specific requirements and as much as I want to lose the weight, I hate giving up foods that I love and eating food that "feels like" diet food. This was perfect for the chili that made, with that little bit of heat to give it a good kick. Hubby even loved it, lean ground turkey and all. I only used about a tablespoon of the mix for 7 oz. of meat mixed with tomatoes, onions, etc. Next time I may add some cumin to the mix and cut back on the season salt. One thing I did was after everything had been prepared, I sprinkled a little powdered stevia on top and folded it in. It was a nice touch which makes me think I'll do it again. Either way, thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amylmoser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Essex, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This one is really good but I add Cumin and exchange GROUND cayenne pepper with just regular crushed red pepper flakes, but still a great start for the flavor direction I was trying to achieve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Flatlander Chili

See how to make a simple, satisfying ground beef chili with red beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States