Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
I used coconut sugar instead of brown sugar, added 1/4 teaspoon each of garlic powder, onion powder, all spice, ginger, chili powder. Tossed in some minced onions. Great on top of meat loaf an very good for sloppy joes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Myers Lucas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
i'm not sure what chili sauce like Heinz is supposed to taste like but this worked as a substitute in Chef John's Shrimp Cocktail (on this site) so ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I needed chili sauce for another recipe and I'm very glad I stumbled across it! It is a very sweet sauce and I used the leftover sauce for crockpot sloppy joes. They were fabulous! The second (and 3rd and 4th and 5th) I used chili powder instead of allspice, added granulated garlic and a bit more salt to cut some of the sweetness as I personally prefer savory over sweet; hubby loved it either way! Great recipe and is now a staple in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I used it as is in this site's Spanish Rice Bake. Perfect without alterations. I love how simple and good this is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Easy useful recipe. When made as is it is a little too sweet. Too much allspice too. I added chili, garlic and onion powders like another reviewer suggested and it was better. Next time I will try halving the allspice, adding the extra spices and white sugar instead of brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Oooh my!!! Thank you for this recipe! Wanted to do sweet & sour meatballs for dinner and didn't want to drive to the store ;) You saved the day. I'll never buy store bought chili sauce again! I was also out of allspice, mixed up my own and followed your recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Mitchem

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I followed Pam's adjustments and liked the flavor. This sauce definitely has to sit for a few hours to meld the favors. Next time, will add horseradish for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FingerLakesGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Sorry even after all of the suggested additions, this was not eaten at our house and I ended up throwing it out in it's entirety. I thought it would taste better after a day or so but the sauce ended up congealing...so I had chili sauce jello! Thanks for the post though... I do like trying new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Decent and definitely gets points for being simple. Definitely would benefit from some add-ins to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I needed chili sauce to make "grape jelly meatballs" and didn't have time to run to the store. Luckily this recipe was here! I felt it lacked something - ended up adding 1/4 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and an additional Tbsp of vinegar. Still not quite right. Finally I settled on just over 1/2 tsp of prepared horseradish. That gave it enough kick to work for me. Thanks for posting this as I was in a bind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States