Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I found this WAY TOO SWEET. I will definitely cut the amount of sugar the next time. Also after tasting it, I thought it was missing something, and I read the ingredients off of the empty bottle of store bought chili sauce that I had. I then added 1/4tsp. of onion powder, 1/4 tsp. of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp. of chili powder. It really improved it. (Besides, I don't know why you would name a recipe 'chili sauce' when there's no chili in it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by proudwifeandmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Oh my... this makes unbelievably good sloppy joes! Sassy! I subbed chili powder for the allspice. Hubby and school-aged kids all loved it. (Mom, too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This recipe is really close to store bought chili sauce. I added some of this to my homemade barbecue sauce and it worked great. I don't think I will ever buy store bought chili sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Running Springs, California, USA
Living In: Star, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Used this recipe to substitute the jar of chili sauce in "Cocktail Meatballs." Next time, I think I will add 1/4 tsp of onion powder, 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of chili powder as proudwifeandmommy suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Thank you I will never buy chili sauce again. Needed it in my chili and did not want to hit the store. Tasted great! And no high fructose corn syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I needed chili sauce in a recipe for "simply the easiest beef brisket" from this website and didn't have any. This worked very well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I don't really know what the jarred kind of chili sauce tastes like, but this worked great for my purposes today. I needed chili sauce in a recipe for maple meatballs and they turned out really well with this sauce in them. I'm looking forward to trying the rest of it in another recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Always needed to run to store to get chili sauce for a recipe, and this is much cheaper and tastes great! I let it sit in fridge so flavors could blend....very good on my meatloaf! I did use just a tablespoon and a half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
i had no allspice but happened to have a jar of jamaican JERK seasoning,,,so i used 3/4 tsp of that instead. it tasted better than any chili sauce i could purchase. i served it over cocktail meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iselin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glen Gardner, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Good recipe! I never think to buy chili sauce so I never have it on hand. I always have these four ingredients on hand, though, and just make it up as I need it. Much less expensive this way, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States