Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This worked perfectly for the 'Remoulade Sauce a la New Orleans' recipe from here. I did scale the recipe back jsut to make as much as I needed. I would never hesitate to use this recipe in place of store bought bottled chili sauce, as it was pretty much identical! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
WOW! used chili powder in place of allspice and was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Just what I was looking for. I used tomato paste + water as the base. Also I replaced the allspice with paprika (I ran out of chili powder) and added some tabasco sauce. Furthermore, I boiled it in a saucepan for a few minutes to meld the flavors together. I know it seems like I am rating an entirely different recipe, but this got me going in the right direction, and for that I tip my hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I thought this recipe was great, I needed chili sauce for a recipe and instead of running to the store I was recommended this!! The only thing I did different was added about 1 teaspoon of salt. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I couldn't find any allspice so I used about 1/2 teaspoon of mixed chili powder and crushed Italian seasonings. That worked VERY well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I made this when I discovered too late that I did not have any from the store. It is better than the bottled kind and I will make my own from now on. Great recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was really good. I used it on the lentils (as recommended) when I made Glazed Corned Beef with Lentils from this site. I don't use onions or onion powder (because we have dogs, and they usually get some of what I cook, too) and I didn't add any garlic (because I had already added that to the water in which I cooked my lentils). I also substituted a bit of Cumin and a few shakes of Mrs. Dash's Southwest Chipotle blend for the allspice (I had it on hand, but ti rarely does anything for me), and it was great. I was skeptical (to say the least) about how all of the flavors that comprised this dinner would blend, but there wasn't a scrap left at the end of the meal. (I'm glad I threw in some potatoes with the lentils).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Used this recipe to substitute the jar of chili sauce in "Cocktail Meatballs." Next time, I think I will add 1/4 tsp of onion powder, 1/4 tsp of garlic powder, and 1/2 tsp of chili powder as proudwifeandmommy suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Tasted just like BBQ sauce. I made it exactly as written, and it was just way too sweet, even for BBQ! After that went over like a led balloon, I added onion powder, garlic powder, salt, soy sauce, red pepper flakes, Asian mustard and hot sauce. I don't know what it turned into but it was much better than originally written. I was putting it over meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I used splenda brown sugar blend... SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States