Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I am sure this is far better than the bottled sauce. My issue is not with the above photo (which has to be this recipe) but with the photo that 'hooked me' into looking at the recipe. That photo looked like Thai sweet chili sauce, which I would like to prepare at home. The wrong photo is frequently shown with a recipe, I have discovered!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Made this to use in "healthier hot legs" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Thanks for this. I needed some for vegetables tonight and had no idea how to make my own. This is fine the way it is but I may try it with the garlic etc. like others suggested too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
So easy and so great! I needed Chili sauce for cocktail meatballs on Thanksgiving and I made this sauce and it was so easy to make and was fantastic. I also think it is cheaper to make this sauce than to buy it! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Valdovinos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poca, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Perfect and quick. Didn't change a thing. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
So easy and so good for recipes that call for chili sauce! From now on I will always double the recipe when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Just ok as is. With reviewer comments about being too sweet I halved the brown sugar and added about 1/2tsp each of onion powder, garlic powder, chili powder and a pinch of salt. It's certainly better that way and avoids all that high fructose corn syrup. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reed

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Garden Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a great substitute for the store bought version. I took the suggestion of proudwifeandmommy by adding the spices she suggested and cut back on the brown sugar. I also added the following spices: 1/4 tsp cloves 1/8 tsp cinnamon 1/8 tsp ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I don't think I've ever purchased commercial chili sauce so I don't know if this was right or not. I needed some for Jeff's Sloppy Joes (AR Recipe) so I threw this together. I used one 8 oz can of tomato sauce which isn't quite one cup so I scaled back the other ingredients. It worked for my needs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great substitute for Heinz Chili Sauce at a mere fraction of the price! I added just a bit more vinegar and a shake of chili powder. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States