Chili Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I needed chili sauce to make "grape jelly meatballs" and didn't have time to run to the store. Luckily this recipe was here! I felt it lacked something - ended up adding 1/4 tsp onion powder and 1/4 tsp garlic powder, and an additional Tbsp of vinegar. Still not quite right. Finally I settled on just over 1/2 tsp of prepared horseradish. That gave it enough kick to work for me. Thanks for posting this as I was in a bind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
Good sauce, but I will follow others advice next time and add a few things. Thought it needed just a little something else with spices. Won't buy the jarred stuff anymore when I can make this so quickly and inexpensively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Great substitute for store bought. "Chili" sauce has nothing to do with the spice "chili" Chili sauce is basically used as a condiment. Mixed with mayonaise or miracle whip makes a great Thousand Island dressing. Also great in liew of the more spicy barbeque sauce on ribs. I also use it over an appetizer spread made of cream cheese and canned salmon. Ellenmel, I am so glad you submitted this as I no longer purchase prepared chili sauce because it contains high fructose corn syrup and I use it on many things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This recipe is great. I did not want to go to the store to get just chili sauce. So I looked up chili sauce recipes and try this one. I am sure glad that I did. I put in my own taste by adding what I like. but followed this pretty close. It turned out great. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I love how I didn't have to go to the store to buy a bottle of chili sauce for another recipe. I mixed this up following others' suggestions (decreasing brown sugar to 2 T. and adding 1/4 tsp. garlic powder, 1/4 tsp. onion powder, and 1/2 tsp. chili powder) and had my homemade chili sauce in mere minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I use recipe this for my homemade party meatballs. This recipe is quick and easy and is so much better than having the bottled stuff on hand that just goes bad b/c we don't use it enough! I combine this with the Cranberry Sauce II (sal) and Cocktail Meatballs (Lara) recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloriabeatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elrosa, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I only had about half the commercial chili sauce that I needed and couldn't go to the store. The flavour of this sauce is pretty close, but it certainly isn't as thick as the commercial sauce. Perhaps reducing it on the stove or using crushed tomatoes might fix this. That being said, this recipe saved my meal. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Good, but next time I'll cut the sugar by half. Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
A little too sweet for my taste, but it works! It does taste like sweet chilli sauce bought from a store! Will definitely be making this again with that slight change! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made this sauce to use in the "Easy Sloppy Joes" recipe. I didn't have the jar of chili sauce on hand. My husband like this version much better. It's super easy to make, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States