Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin With Apricot Ginger Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This was wonderful! From the husband "pork, my least favorite white meat", to "this is awesome, what meat is this?"..... only change I made was to decrease the chili powder to 3/4 tsp as the hubby dislikes spicy foods and based on other readers reviews, this was the perfect mix. Worked beautifully!!! Thanks so much for this recipe!!~!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is EXCELLENT! It is a must try! I only cooked one tenderloin (vs two)so I only made half the glaze. (I then divided that glaze into two small bowls and used one for brushing onto the meat and the other to set on the table with dinner for dipping or whatever.) I followed the advice of another reviewer here and baked the tenderloin in the oven at 300 degrees for 1 hour 10 minutes, brushed on some glaze, put back in oven for 10 additional minutes, turned tenderloin over and brushed rest of glaze on other side and baked 10 more minutes (total baking time of 1-1/2 hours). I let it set out for 5 minutes before slicing. It seemed to be the longest 5 minutes of our lives. It smelled that good! We LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this recipe! My husband thought it was just a tad too spicy for him so next time I will cut back a bit on the chili powder in the rub. However, I thought it was just perfect! The spicy and sweet flavors complement each other well. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Wow! What an incredible grilled pork recipe! I doubled the spice rub for approximately 3 lbs. of pork and rather leaving the tenderloin whole I cut the pork into medallions. I dipped each piece into the rub and then skewered it making kabobs and left it in the fridge for a few hours. I've found it's much easier to cook that way. It's easier to turn and make sure it's cooked evenly not dried out. I kept the amount of glaze the same, but cut the amount of bbq sauce in it by half. I found that you could easily melt the preserves in the microwave and then add the rest of the ingredients. The sweetness of the glaze definitely compliments the spiciness of the grilled pork! This goes great with grilled sweet potatoes. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Note to cookinkiwi - review the recipe again and first see step 2. Divide the glaze so that people can use it at table. Then go to step 4. With 4 minutes to go, brush the meat with the remaining glaze. Spray out any flames, though that shouldn't be a problem with tenderloin since it is lean. The general rule with any sweet sauce (barbecue sauce and others) is to use it briefly near the end of grilling. That's long enough to warm it and bond it to the surface of the meat, making an attractive and tasty coating. Sugar is a molecule containing carbon. Leave it over a grill too long and it burns and turns to black charcoal. Most folks don't like the taste of cinders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
A five-star recipe for sure. Although the recipe doesn't say when to first put the glaze on the meat, I did it right at the start, and because I didn't want to grill outside in the freezing cold, I pan-seared the meat on the stove, placed it in a baking pan, poured sauce over, and baked until internal temp 160f. was reached. One other thing - I didn't have apricot preserves so in its stead I used orange marmalade (which is tart so I eliminated the lime juice). This was so moist and tasty, bit of a bite, served with oven baked fries and Amish Cole Slaw - a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was delicious. The only thing that I would do differently (and I will make this again) would be to reduce the amount of barbecue sauce in order to let the apricot flavor come through a little bit stronger. I would also reduce the amount of glaze by half. I used it to glaze while grilling and also as a sauce for dipping and I still had to much. This was excellent and it would be great for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shlegminitism
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Fantastic recipe. My tenderloins were closer to a pound and a half so i made a little extra rub. I used a homemade ancho chili powder, which is more flavorful than the store-bought chili powders which have other spices mixed with the chili. I opted for cooking inside after letting the rub sit on for about 3 hours. I tied both tenderloins together with butchers twine, seared it on all sides on a grill pan, and put it in a 325F oven until multiple thermometers read 155, then added the glaze. For the glaze, i cut the bbq sauce in half, used fresh garlic along with the fresh ginger, and extra hot sauce (cholula). The cilantro was a nice addition. Kudos to the author of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shlegminitism
Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
This was so visually pretty coming off the grill I could only hope it would taste good too. Well this deserves a definite ride on the "hot tamale train" for sure. OMG the perfect mix of spicy and sweet. I did add just a small amt. of chipotle chili powder also and I thought the heat level was spot on. The leftover glaze was so good for dipping. I love the lime in this and next time just might put some more in but I had a small lime. There were lots of smiles all around while eating this. Served it with Parmesan crusted asparagus from AR and Shitake Mushroom Brown Rice from Food Network. It was good too. A 5-star recipe and a 5-star meal. Thanks Pork Board!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe was great. I vary my meats throughout the week and I usually cringe when it comes to pork because nothing ever seems to flavor it very well. This recipe has made me fall in love with pork. Just the rub alone is awesome, but the apricot glaze really adds the extra flavor. Bravo. I cut down on the chili powder to get my 5 year old to eat it. I wouldn't change anything else though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I just made this for dinner and my husband loved it. It was fast (minus refrigeration time for the rub), easy and delicious. I followed the directions for the rub exactly, but only refrigerated for 1 1/2 hrs. and it was still very flavorful and extremely tender. For the glaze I used reduced sugar apricot preserves since that was what I had on hand. I used just over 1 cup of preserves and probably 1/3 cup of barbecue sauce. I didn't have any hot sauce but it still had a little kick. I also added a tablespoon or so of brown sugar. The remaining ingredients I stuck to the recommended amount. We still had leftover glaze, so next time I may follow other reviewers suggestions to cut it in half & keep the proportions the same as the original recipe, but it was still very good. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 435) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States