Chili Rubbed Pork Tenderloin With Apricot Ginger Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This recipe is excellent and always a big bit. There are two things I do different: 1.) I sear each side for 2 min before putting in the oven at 350F and I bake to 140F and let rest 15 min before cutting. 2.) I don't add the hot sauce to the glaze in case someone has an aversion to hot food. This is a top recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was absoutely mouth watering delicious! The combination of spicy ( the chili powder ) and sweet ( the apricot glaze) blends so nicely on the palate. If you are cooking for a crowd that does not like spicy food, I would tone back the chili powder. I, however, think it's perfect the way it is! Did not have a grill ( live in a condo ), so I seared it in a very hot pan for 2 mins, then cooked in the oven at 320 for 40 mins, then added glaze and cooked another 10. Went really nicely with a almond rice pilaf and brussel sprouts. This apricot glazed pork is an entertainment worthy main course. Melts in the mouth! FYI: I kept the pork loin in the fridge for about 5 hours, soaking in that amazing dry rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North York, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this for our Christmas dinner a year ago, and it was such a huge hit that I am returning to it again this year. First, though, I have to say that I really don't understand why people modify a recipe, and then give it a poor rating because their modifications didn't work out. I followed the recipe pretty closely with one exception: I don't eat sugar, so I substituted granular Splenda in the rub (DO NOT use Equal/Nutrasweet--it breaks down when exposed to high temps), and I used sugar free apricot preserves. This worked very well for those looking to cut back on sugar (there's not a lot of sugar in the recipe anyway). I do have a few suggestions. The recipe is best if you can leave the rub on for as long as possible before cooking. I took the meat out of the fridge for about 30 minutes before I started to cook it. I also baked mine in the oven--it's a bit cold for grilling outside at this time of the year. However, before putting it in the oven, I seared the tenderloin on all sides in hot pan with a little oil. Finally, I put it in the oven at 375 (covered) for 20-40 minutes, until temp was 135-140. I removed the pork from the oven, and turned it up to 475. While waiting for the oven to come to temp, I glazed the pork. Then back to the oven for about 10 minutes until the temp reached 145. Do not go any higher. In 2011 the USDA changed the recommended temp from 160 to 145. For good reason--145 kills bacteria, but it doesn't turn the meat into shoe leather. Hope this helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Unbelievably good! My husband said this is now the only recipe we'll use for pork tenderloin. Loved the addition of cilantro! Such a unique combination of flavors. A real winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Awesome! My entire family LOVES this!!!! It is so tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Loved it. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
my husband loved, but i wasn't super impressed, it was ok, but i thought with all the reviews that it would have some heat, but it was mostly a really smoking taste...will try again. maybe just add more hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GPhiBQT
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Delicious! I used pork chops and did it in the oven at 325 degrees for 40 minutes and it came out perfect! Nice and moist and great flavor. My husband is very picky and he even loved it. Will definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GPhiBQT

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
A very good, very easy recipe (might well be 5* if made as written but I made a few modifications based on my circumstances). I agree with reviewers who said the recipe for apricot BBQ sauce makes alot. I made a 1/3 recipe for one (rather plump) tenderloin (served 3) and that was perfect. For the rub, I didn't have garlic powder, so grated in fresh garlic, which worked fine (rub became more of a paste). After adding the "rub", I only had an hour before I had to cook it. I followed the advice of a reviewer who suggested roasting at 425 as an alternative to grilling. I added the first half of cooking-designated glaze after 10 min and the second bit 10 min later, and rotated each time I glazed it. The total cooking time was about 30 min to reach 165 degrees. Served with the reserved glaze, roasted mini potatoes, and coleslaw. A very easy weeknight meal but this is nice enough to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Great recipe. We were out of propane so I cooked it in the oven: 10 minutes at 400°, then 20 min at 325°, then glazed the loins, cooked an additional 10 min at 325° and then broiled on HIgh for an additional 7 minutes to an internal temp of 140-150° and let it rest. Turned out perfectly moist with some nice char spots on the glaze. Yum. It was a hit with my husband, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 450) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Glazed Peaches

See how to make a simple pan sauce for roasted pork with glazed peaches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States