Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I made this a few days ago for a chili cook-off, but it never made it to the competition. I heard it was really good. Today I made it again using many of the same ingredients and some of my own ingredients. I call it my Chocolate Alarm Chili cuz it is a perfect sweet and spicy blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vonda roark-martinez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
too much barbeque for my chili preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I made this chili for a cookoff at work. It didn't win but the chili was very good. Some people said it had too much BBQ sauce and I used half of the BBQ sauce that it called for. Overall, very good and the men in my office really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this chili a week ahead of time and froze it before a chili cook-off. I won 1st place,peoples' choice.Everyone wanted to know what "the sweet taste" was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizzyandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Who Knew. Made the exact recipe. Perfect@!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Let me just tell you that my fiance is the most picky eater in the world, but he loved this chili. The first flavor I tasted was sweet, then there was a surprising kick. I was not used to these different flavors in chili, but by the second bowl I was used to it and loved it! The only thing I changed was cutting the recipe in half as there is only 2 of us. Highly recommend. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbie Jensen Whitton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carli79
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
my first time cooking chili and I won 2nd place in the firm cookoff. 4 stars only because I made quite a few modifications: used 1/2 the tomato sauce it called for, replaced one can of diced tomatoes with a can of rotel, added some liquid smoke, used Chappell Hill sausage (removed the casing and sliced), used kidney and black beans, and only used about 6 ounces of BBQ sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carli79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I hate to be a party-pooper but I did this recipe EXACTLY as written and it was a disappointment. I should have taken the advice of the other reviewers and used a brown sugar sauce instead of a hickory BBQ sauce. When I first made this, it tasted like a strange BBQ rather than a chile. I later added more chile poweder and chocolate, which improved the flavor but when I fed it to a friend who asked me about the weird sloppy joes.... It was OK like this. Definitely edible but not like chile and not that great. I have lived almost all of my life in the Southwest including a large time in New Mexico. I know chile and Mole sauces and this was neither. I will try it again with the brown sugar sauce and see if that makes this better - or I'll just scratch this recipe of my list and go back to making chiles my own way. *** One note to those who used less chile powder because they thought it would be too hot. Try to find a Chimayo chile powder. It has an authentic, New Mexico chile taste without as much heat as other chile powders. I usually find this in small bags in either the organic or gourmet parts of the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RenLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this just the way it called for with the exception of one thing. I put in a half a cup of of pulled pork that I made earlier in the week. It is good as it looks. What flavor, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Typhrc1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Based on the reviews I expected alot from this recipe and was quite dissapionted, the bbq sauce is very overwhelming, if your trying this recipe for the first time you might consider cutting it in half as it makes a huge pot and it's alot left if no one likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States