Chili Rick's Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This chili is excellent! It takes a while to prepare but it is definitly worth it. I love the smokyness of the bacon in it. I did not use bbq sauce but i use a dash of liquid hickory smoke and it turned out really nice. I did put some carots, corn and celery in it because i love vegies in my chili. I also used 3 different kind of beans to have different colors and textures. I used more tomato sauce, more chili powder and more chocolate because i haded a lot of vegetables and needed more spices. I also used a bit of cayenne pepper powder. I will deffinitly make this again, it is excellent with sour cream and corn chips. I now have a huge batch i will enjoy for the rest of the winter! (i used my crock pot and a big soup pot...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmundston, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Very strong even after cutting the amount of barbeque sauce in 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I get asked to make this every family get together, though the prep for this chili is over an hour its absolutely worth it...I also add cavendars to everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This would have got a 5 - but the last added ingredient ruined it for me! The unsweetened chocolate added a burnt taste :( I will make the recipie again sans the chocolate and it will definitely be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I was excited to try this recipe after reading all the chili contests it had won. I was a bit dissapointed. The taste was very BBQy. Too sweet for Chili. My family didn't seem too thrilled either. PLENTY of left-overs... ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Rick is either a culinary genius or got lucky trying to figure out a new/better way to fix chili. I have a pretty good recipe for chili, but thought I would give this a try when we had about fifty friends and neighbors over for our annual holiday gathering. I made my recipe as well as Rick's. Both were finished off and well received, but Rick's got the raves. I used 2lbs. of chorizo sausage, 2lbs. of ground beef and 1lb. of pulled pork as well as the 1lb. of bacon. I mixed up the beans a bit using 1 can of dark red kidneys, 1 can of light red kidneys, 1 can of pintos and 1 can of great northerns. I also added about 2 tbs. of ground cumin. I took it slow adding the bbq sauce, tasting as I added, but ended up using the full 32ozs. Great flavor! Everyone wants the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
First time I ever cooked chili and I made it yesterday for my sons's first birthday and everybody loved it! Great recipe and I will definitely cook chili again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
It was the chocolate that intriqued me. I've never cared for chili, although I've wanted to, I just couldn't find the right combo of ingredients. I made up the whole batch, and then put it in a slow cooker to cook on low all day and it was simply AMAZING!!!! Was SO proud!! Hubby is thawing out the left over's RIGHT NOW for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
GREAT RECIPE!!!!! I won first place in a chili cook-off and everyone loved it. I did halve the BBQ sauce and used chorizo instead of the spicy sausage and only one tomato sauce and added an extra can of diced tomatoes. VERY VERY YUMMY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I made this for a chili/soup cookoff at work. Not only did I not win, but mine had the most left uneaten. I was pretty happy at first - it's a little different with the different meats in it. I liked it though - until I added the choclate. I only added 1/2 of what was recommended. To me, it ruined it. If you like Mole sauce, you may really enjoy it. I may try again without the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Bull Rider's Chili

See how to make a hearty beef and bean chili with lots of smoky flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States